Black Bean & Sweet Potato Chili

chili 009

I first came across this flavor combination as a burrito fulling in the Moosewood Restaurant Low-Fat Favorites cookbook. It came across my mind the day after camping because we had a sweet potato in the pantry and black beans that I had cooked and frozen the week before.  We also had crushed tomatoes leftover from something Phil had made the other week and part of a chipotle.  All of those ingredients screamed CHILI!

We loosely based the recipe on this one, but added chipotle and some habanero peppers instead of the chili powder they called for.  I think Phil threw in a crumbled veggie sausage too.  Served with some homemade cornbread muffins, this was a tasty chili!  The sweet potato added a nice creaminess to the dish that cheese or sour cream would have normally supplied (much cheaper and definitely less fattening) and the peppers provided some great heat. Maybe not so good for the summer months, but one to keep on the back burner.


This Week’s Receipt Just a Number

Sorry folks, I have no idea where the receipt went. It got lost between the Coop and the doctor’s office. According to my debit card, the total for this week was $20.31. I am going to attempt to list everything from memory (as having the receipts posted actually helps me with recipe ideas).

  • Fuji apples (2.2 lbs – I remember this because I was amazed that the apples weighed that much)
  • salad mix
  • 2 Kirby cucumbers
  • 1 small green pepper
  • 1 lb Brussels sprouts
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 quart organic strawberries
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 1 bag of organic carrots
  • cornmeal
  • bunch of baby red potatoes
  • 2 onions
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 bunch of rainbow swiss chard
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 2 lemons
  • 2 limes
  • flax seeds

I am thinking of making this divine dish – Strawberry Dumplings. I love the idea of cooking the biscuits in the berries. Less dishes to wash!