Marinated Teriyaki/Peanut Tofu w/Steamed Chard & Quinoa

tofu with chard

After the camping trip, we had to drop off the car at my parents house and since we didn’t have time to stay for dinner, my mom pressed upon me the marinated tofu she was planning on BBQing. My mom likes to feed people…a lot. I believed she used this to marinate the tofu. Anyways, we baked the tofu in a cast iron skillet at about 400F and made some quinoa. We chopped up the chard, stuck it in a mesh strainer and steamed it on top of the quinoa (one pot, less mess!). Phil mixed up the leftover marinade with a bit of chunky peanut butter and put it on top of the chard and quinoa and voila! A simple, hearty and delicious meal. Top with some crushed peanuts for more excitement.

I also spent $1.50 on a honeydew melon and $1 on a loaf of bread. Our tally for the week is now: $22.81.