Fusion Sopes

fusion sopas

Tonight’s dinner was a mish-mash of things we had in the fridge that we wanted to use up, but still have a tasty meal.  This week was a crazy one in that there were work events two nights and a pre-Mother’s Day/Wedding Rehearsal Dinner, so we haven’t really cooked anything exciting.  Phil had made some awesome lentils, caramelized onions and brown rice the other night and also a pot of black-eyed peas earlier in the week.  I had also prepped some mung beans sprouts, so we had food in the house, we just weren’t eating much of it! 

Anyways, we made sopes with some of the Maseca flour tonight and piled on some black eyed peas mixed with chipotles, the rice/lentil combo (the curry was surprisingly good in this context – think FUSION!), some avocado, salsa, sprouts and a bit of cheese.  It was delicious.  I am in love with the tortilla press, which I used to press down the sopes (a kind of thicker tortilla).  I used the same recipe from our corn tortillas, only made less of it, formed a much larger ball and didn’t press down as much so it made a thicker round.

For those who are amused at the tiny bit of cheese bought at the Coop earlier this week, it made me laugh too, so I bought it.  I figured it would be good in an omelet or something.  It really is a small piece of cheese.  I could cram it in my mouth very easily.

I bought some eggs from Trader Joe’s for $2.19.  So we have $1.69 left.  Whooo!