Broccoli Stem Fridge Pickles

Since people appear curious, here is a quick recap on our Broccoli Stem Pickles.  I’ll post a picture when we return.  An excellent resource with beautiful pictures and recipes for canning a plethora of items is Food in Jars.  Good long-weekend blog reading!

Broccoli Stem Fridge Pickles

Ingredients:

  • lots of broccoli stems (I head a head of broccoli)
  • a few cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 cup white vinegar(make sure it has 5% acidity)
  • 1/2 cup water (preferably filtered)
  • 1/2 tablespoon course sea salt
  • a tablespoon or so pickling spices (we had a bag in our random spice jar)
  • OR you can use leftover pickle brine and some vinegar (see this post for info) – should have about a cup of liquid
  • 1 small glass jar with lid, cleaned well with hot water and dried (If you have a LOT of stems and want to make a larger jar, adjust the recipe)

To Do:

  1. Cut up enough broccoli stems so they fit in your jar with the prerequisite 1/2″ of headspace.  Place in jar with garlic.  For kicks, add some jalapeno (we had some slices in the fridge that I wanted to use up).
  2. Boil the vinegar, water, salt and spices OR boil leftover pickle juice, vinegar and some water.  These are refrigerator pickles, not rocket science.
  3. Pour the mixture over the stems (check that headspace out).  Cap tightly and place in fridge.  They should be ready to eat in 2-3 days and will last for 2 weeks in the fridge.

11 Comments on “Broccoli Stem Fridge Pickles”

  1. Daisy Mae says:

    Hmmmm – sounds interesting. I think I may try it next time I get broccoli.

    I’ve always heard that a 5% vinegar mixed 50/50 with water will pickle anything. And this sure proves it!

  2. […] Highly recommended folks.  A good way to not waste food.  Try the recipe. […]

  3. Liz says:

    This is a great idea. I just made my first quick pickles last weekend — and they are delicious. But I would never have thought about pickling broccoli stems!

  4. Steve says:

    I never would have thought of using broccoli stems for pickling. Are they really any good?

  5. tinaspins says:

    I wouldn’t be advocating them if I thought they tasted bad! Give em a shot. You have nothing to lose but some vinegar and spices.

  6. […] Tired of throwing those broccoli stems in the compost? Then do what the fine frugal folks at Thirty Bucks a Week did: broccoli stem pickles! […]

  7. […] Fridge pickles. You can make your own pickling brine, or go even more frugal and reuse the brine from a jar of tasty store-bought pickles. Once in a […]

  8. Mary Simon says:

    Could you use this recipe and water bath them so that they will be shelf stable?

  9. […] the aforementioned fresh herbs. 5. Like pickles. You can pickle a lot of stuff. Carrots, daikon, broccoli stems, kohlrabi, radishes, daikon, cabbage and cukes (obviously) to name a few. If you have leftover […]

  10. ddos vps says:

    First off I want to say terrific blog! I had a quick question which I’d like to ask if you do not mind. I was interested to know how you center yourself and clear your mind before writing. I’ve had a tough time clearing my mind in getting my thoughts out. I truly do take pleasure in writing but it just seems like the first 10 to 15 minutes are generally lost simply just trying to figure out how to begin. Any suggestions or tips? Kudos!|

  11. […] 1 large head of broccoli, cleaned and chopped into small florets (save the stems for pickles) […]


Leave a comment