Dinner Party Dishes

Tina mentioned our Tuesday dinner party in her post about her bread pudding. We also ate a bunch of other stuff that turned out quite well, and some of it was sort of new-ish, so I’d do a quick rundown.

– I cubed some red potatoes, nuked them for about 5 minutes to soften them up a bit, then sauteed them in a little bit of olive oil with the pan covered, turning occassionally, for about 20 minutes. They got nice and crispy on the outsides and remained soft on the inside. I let them cool and dressed with just salt, pepper, dried dill, and some lemon juice.

– Raw kale salad. Done it before.

– Some garden-fresh broccoli. I cut off the florets (Tina then used the stems for the refrigerator pickles) and also sauteed them lightly in a bit of olive oil with salt, pepper, and crushed red pepper. Took them off the heat before they softened up too much, then served at room temperature. Fresh veggies often don’t need too much dressing up.

– Finally, one of our dinner guests brought some dough for fresh gnocchi (or potato dumplings – opinon varied), which we cooked up and served with a fava bean, pea, and mint pesto (also supplied by said guest). We’ll try to pry the recipe from him, because they were delicious.


2 Comments on “Dinner Party Dishes”

  1. Jaime says:

    Would you share the recipe for broccoli stalk fridge pickles? I usually just cook the stalks with the florets, but I’d love to try something new!

  2. Mary says:

    This sounds like a great party. I’m sure every one knows that thinly slice broccoli stalks are a wonderful addition to a stir fry. This is my first visit to your blog, so I took some time to read your earlier posts and become familiar with it and you. I’m so glad I did. I love your recipes. I’ll be back often. Have a great day. Blessings…Mary


Leave a Reply

