This Week’s Receipt Just a Number

Sorry folks, I have no idea where the receipt went. It got lost between the Coop and the doctor’s office. According to my debit card, the total for this week was $20.31. I am going to attempt to list everything from memory (as having the receipts posted actually helps me with recipe ideas).

  • Fuji apples (2.2 lbs – I remember this because I was amazed that the apples weighed that much)
  • salad mix
  • 2 Kirby cucumbers
  • 1 small green pepper
  • 1 lb Brussels sprouts
  • 1 avocado
  • 1 quart organic strawberries
  • 1 bunch of cilantro
  • 1 bag of organic carrots
  • cornmeal
  • bunch of baby red potatoes
  • 2 onions
  • 1 red onion
  • 1 bunch of rainbow swiss chard
  • 1 head of garlic
  • 2 lemons
  • 2 limes
  • flax seeds

I am thinking of making this divine dish – Strawberry Dumplings. I love the idea of cooking the biscuits in the berries. Less dishes to wash!


7 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt Just a Number”

  1. Amiyrah says:

    Blueberry dumplings is great also. We have it with vanilla ice cream. Yumm!

  2. Sarah says:

    The dumplings sound amazing. I’d love to hear how they turn out.

    • tinaspins says:

      The strawberry part was amazing – the dumplings…Phil liked them, but I think that my “eh, whole wheat bread flour will be FINE” attitude turned them into not so tasty morsels. I will definitely try this again with normal flour though.

  3. katy says:

    I love the idea and can see where you could live on $30 a week. Your photos and recipes look and sound yummy. I’m looking forward to trying some of your recipes. It’s just that your receipts don’t seem to have enough items to feed 2 people for a week and your recipes don’t all match the items on your receipts. Not meant to be a criticism of any kind…I’m just interested in how it works. I’ve just started reading your interesting blog so please excuse me if you explained in earlier posts. I am working my way back. Are you using your weekly items to supplement a well-established pantry? Are you trading for other items or something? Thanks,
    Katy

  4. P says:

    It’s just that often times the staples we buy one week will last us for longer than a week. We do have a reasonably well stocked pantry, but most of that stock comes from purchases that show up on one or another of these receipts.

  5. tinaspins says:

    Hi Katy,

    Exactly what Phil said. And when we don’t have a pantry staple, we try something new out! For instance, we only have a scant amount of WW flour after our pizza making, so Phil improvised and used masa harina for his cookies. Sometimes the result is disastrous, but more often things usually work out.

    • P says:

      Yes, and we had the masa harina in the house from making the homemade tortillas we posted about a few weeks ago.


Leave a Reply

