Update on Spending & Windfall

Monday night I bought 4 challah rolls at Jack’s for $1; from Key Foods, I got a can of broadbeans for $1.89, can of coconut milk for $1.50 and at the corner bodega/grocery store, I got a pound of string beans for $1.  I also got 4 apples from the farmer’s market for $2.  Total: $7.49

Today, we got lucky.  My boss brought in some of his harvest from his upstate garden.  We got cukes, a few baby eggplants, brocollini and some tomatoes.  Our friends were once again out of town and asked us to pick up their CSA and we got:

  • 1 lb. Fingerling Potatoes
  • 2 eggplants
  • 1 Head Boston Lettuce
  • 1/2 lb Beans
  • 1/4 Red Watermelon
  • 2 peppers
  • 1 lb Cherry Tomatoes

With all of the tomatoes we got, I am thinking we need to make some more tomato jam.  I am psyched about the watermelon and the peppers.

Rest assured that we will be spending our entire $30/Week budget soon enough.  Fall is coming and with that comes baking bread and veggie stews.  My favorites!



Leave a comment