Quick Desserts

banana

Taken from reader Diane, I decided to make some broiled bananas.  I cut a slit in two bananas and put a tiny bit of butter and a packet of sugar in the raw in each banana and stuck them in my toaster oven at 400 for a few minutes.  I then finished them off under the broiler to make them more caramelized.  YUM!  What a great quick dessert.  I put some chocolate syrup and almonds on mine – I need a bit of chocolate this week.

figs

Another quick dessert or appetizer: broiled figs with goat (super) or cream cheese (if that’s what you’ve got).  The figs we got this week were a bit indulgent, but so good!  We put them in yogurt for breakfast with a bit of honey and I whipped this up for an after dinner treat.  Just slice off the stems, poke a hole with your clean finger (or the back of a wooden spoon) and fill in with cheese.  I like to add a bit of buckwheat honey or balsamic to the tops – depends on what flavors you’re looking for.