Chocolate Spice Cookies

DSC04216

Looking to have a little bit of dessert tonight, I turned to my Epicurious ipod touch application in the kitchen and typed in “cocoa powder cookies.”  I was craving a bit of chocolate, but only had this tin of cocoa powder in the back of the cupboard and thought I would just see what came up.  A recipe for “Chocolate Spice Cookies” came up.  I didn’t have applesauce, but I did have some fig and peach jam.  I halved the recipe and used a little bit of the fig jam and a little bit of the peach jam and threw in a tablespoon of the plain yogurt to make the dough a bit easier to work with.  Lo and behold…

DSC04221

A very moist, chocolate-y and spicy cookie!

Here’s what I did:

Chocolate Spice Cookies (adapted from Epicurious) – makes about 12 large cookies

Ingredients:
3/4 cups all-purpose flour

  • 3 tablespoons alkalized (Dutch process) cocoa powder
  • 1 teaspoon ground allspice
  • 1 teaspoon ground ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cloves
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted
  • 1/2 cup sugar (I actually used a little more than a 1/4 cup)
  • 1/4 cup peach or fig preserves or a mix of both
  • 2 tablespoons molasses
  • 1 tablespoon plain yogurt
  • 1 cookie sheets or jelly-roll pans lined with parchment or foil

To Do:

  1. Preheat oven to 350F.
  2. Mix together all of the dry ingredients.
  3. ]Whip the butter, sugar, preserves and yogurt together and add the dry ingredients.
  4. Mix it all up until it forms a sticky dough.
  5. Plop onto cookie sheets and bake for 5 minutes. Turn cookie sheets and bake for another five minutes.
  6. Remove and let cool on cookie sheets. Don’t overnbake or they will dry out.
  7. YUM!