Cranberry, Date, and Tangerine Muffins

somers-093

I threw these together tonight after a weekend away for a little something to have with tea and for breakfast this week.  They came out really well!

Cranberry, Date & Tangerine Muffins

Ingredients:

2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
1 cup chopped dates and cranberries
2 tablespoons tangerine zest
1 tablespoon baking powder
pinch of baking soda
pinch of salt
1/4 cup sliced almonds
1/2 cup sugar
2 tablespoons olive oil
1/4 cup yogurt
1 cup soy milk
1 egg

To Do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F and grease a 12-muffin tin or use muffin cups.
  2. Mix up the dry ingredients in a large bowl (up to the sugar).
  3. Stir up the rest of the ingredients (liquids). I actually had a mason jar filled with some yogurt and just put everything in the jar and shook it up. One less thing to clean up!
  4. Put the wet ingredients in the dry ingredient bowl and stir them together. Do not over-mix.
  5. Plop the batter in the muffin tins (sprinkle with turbinado sugar if you like) and bake for about 20 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Eat.

7 Comments on “Cranberry, Date, and Tangerine Muffins”

  1. Silke says:

    Thanks for the recipe – I made them this afternoon with a few alterations (I didn’t have all the ingredients), and they came our delicious! I’ll post a picture on my blog tonight with a link to your recipe! Thanks!! 🙂 Silke

    • tinaspins says:

      Awesome! It’s a pretty adaptable/forgivable recipe I think. Can’t wait to see yours!

  2. So Lovely says:

    Really love your blog, a brilliant idea. It twittered your blog address out to the universe.

  3. Barb says:

    I love anything with cranberries and orange in them so I bet these will taste awesome! I can’t wait to give them a try. It’s a bonus that they sound super healthy.

  4. tinaspins says:

    They are pretty healthy – especially with the use of olive oil instead of butter. The tangerine zest really make them POP too.

  5. Wow, you threw this recipe together? That is awesome! They look delicious… thanks for sharing!

    • tinaspins says:

      Gotta make do with what’s in the house! I spliced about 4 recipes together and hoped for the best (the olive oil was a last minute addition I thought was needed). They came out insanely good!


Leave a comment