The Magic of Ramps

ramps-n-things-001

We’re going to be out of town this weekend, so we needed to make sure we made use tonight of any produce that might not make it though until Sunday. This category included one nice, big zucchini and a small bunch of delicious, delicious ramps.

Since ramps at the coop clock in at $9.21/lb., we bought a really modest amount (maybe eight ramps) in order not to bust our budget on them. Since we wanted to cook something that really featured the ramps, but we didn’t have that many ramps to feature, I ended up making a little vegetarian appetizer version of a classic southern (and maybe specifically West Virginian?) preparation involving eggs.

The flavor of ramps is generally described as being halfway between scallions and garlic. They are extremely tasty and both the bulbs and the greens will be very tender after very little time in the pan. A lot of thing I read about ramps suggest that people find them very pungent to both nose and mouth. This is crazy talk. Eat ramps now.

ramps-n-things-005

A Little Ramps and Eggs

8 ramps, washed
1 egg
olive oil
salt and pepper

1. Chop the white bulb ends off of the ramps (excluding any red stem sections, which are bitter), then separately chop the leaves. See the pic at the top of the post for an idea.
2. Heat a little olive oil in a skillet, and add the white bits. Cook for a few minutes, until they start to turn golden brown.
3. Add the leafy bits, stirring a bit, until they begin to wilt. Add a dash of salt and pepper.
4. Once the greens are wilted, crack that egg right into the pan and scramble with the ramps.
5. Serve and eat it all up.


7 Comments on “The Magic of Ramps”

  1. Miss E says:

    You know, I was told that ramps were too pungent and that they needed to be used sparingly – so I made a totally bland frittata with them and was disappointed. I hope I can get more and make something awesome before they’re gone for the season!

    • P says:

      All over the internet there are these people talking about having to convince their friends that ramps taste good. Personally, I don’t know many people who would hear “it’s like scallions mixed with garlic” and not be all about it.

  2. Shelly says:

    The ramps-n-egg scramble looks like exactly what I want for supper tonight.

    And count me among those who do *not* understand how anyone wouldn’t love anything that tasted like “scallions and garlic.” Oniony/garlic-y is its own food group, isn’t it?

    • tinaspins says:

      Yeah, I described them to my mom like that and she asked where she could buy some ASAP. Ramps are gooood.

  3. Thanks for the recipe idea and for teaching me a new name for ‘spring onions’. I’d never heard them called ramps before!

    Going give this a try🙂

  4. Sarah B says:

    Coming into this late in the picture, I’m trying to figure out more nomenclature issues! So these look a lot like what I know as spring onions (in Australia), but I thought those were known as green onions in the US (or is that just California, where I lived)?

    Arg! So confused.

  5. P says:

    Yeah, I think ramps are also called spring onions or green garlic. Green onions, however, I thought were actually scallions. I could be wrong.


Leave a Reply

