Chocolate Pudding

This chocolate pudding was ridiculous easy, silky and delicious.  I got the original recipe from an old post from Pietown and just did a few things differently (see below).  A seriously yummy treat for any party, or just to eat from a bowl.

Chocolate Pudding

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 2 tbsp cornstarch
  • pinch of salt
  • 2 2/3 cups skim milk
  • 4 egg yolks, whisked
  • 1 vanilla bean, split down the middle with seeds scraped or 1 1/2 tsp vanilla

To Do

  1. Put sugar, cornstarch, cocoa powder, and salt in medium saucepan, and mix together.
  2. Add the milk and stir in the vanilla bean seeds and the bean.   Whisk until the mixture begins to come to a slow boil and thickens.  Continue to whisk for another few minutes and remove from heat.
  3. Stir 1/2 cup of the milk mixture into the whisked egg yolks.  Add that mixture to the saucepan and bring it to a boil over continuing to stir.  Continue to whisk as it gently boils for about two minutes.
  4. If you are using vanilla extract instead of the bean, add it now and stir.  Remove the mixture from heat, pour through a strainer and pour into separate cups (or one large bowl).  Cover the pudding with plastic wrap pressed to the top of the pudding and put in fridge to chill.
  5. Serve plain or with whipped cream and berries.

9 Comments on “Chocolate Pudding”

  1. cooksalliance says:

    Don’t you just love homemade pudding? I want to make a good vanilla pudding since I am allergic to chocolate! I am subscribed to your blog and just love it. I’m not vegan and I love your recipes. Keep up the great work and I can’t wait for the next one.

    Dee
    http://cooksalliance.wordpress.com

  2. Jenny says:

    How you do it, I’ll never know- You make such exquisite dishes on a budget! I can barely get outside that oatmeal, PB and bogo box to get my grocery bills down!

  3. seth says:

    cornstarch chocolate pudding is a classic. love it.

    also i’ve been pleasantly surprised at how easy to get/cheap vanilla beans are in the internet age. even organic ones are reasonable.

  4. Sarah says:

    Where does one find vanilla beans? I checked my local Balduccis, Whole Foods, etc, and no luck. I usually get blank stares when I ask the produce people. Is there a season for them, or can I only get them online?

    • tinaspins says:

      Hrm. I got mine as a gift, but have ordered them off ebay in the past (buying vanilla beans in bulk is key). Where do you live? Vanilla beans are usually found with the baking supplies in a small glass jar, but are kind of fancy. I’m surprised Whole Foods doesn’t have them.

  5. Megan says:

    Can I use soymilk in this?

  6. Megan says:

    Thank you so much for such a speedy reply!

  7. Jessy says:

    Nothing beats homemade and that includes pudding too! I learned how to make cornstarch pudding in middle school home economics class and fell in love with it right then and there.
    Thanks for the recipe, it reminds me of home!


Leave a comment