Dinner Party on a Budget

Last night we had some friends over for dinner and at first, I was a bit stumped as to what we could make that would feed us all and hopefully still provide some leftovers.  With the help of one of my favorite cookbooks, we had golden rice with curried squash and homemade chapatis.  Dessert was chocolate pudding topped with whipped cream (our friends brought some heavy cream) and meringue bits.

The frugal story about dessert is that the other day I was craving something sweet and decided to make meringues.  Since meringues only require using up egg whites, I decided to save the yolks and figure out a way to use them this week, hence, the chocolate pudding.

Recipes will be up soon, but I thought this picture was worth posting as it’s an extremely dreary day in NYC.


4 Comments on “Dinner Party on a Budget”

  1. Diana says:

    use the egg yokes for salad dressing … an awesome Ceasar salad dressing is egg yoke, anchovy, olive oil, and some vinegar, mustard, and Worchester sauce.

    keep up the good work I love your website. it’s an inspiration to us all.

  2. colleen says:

    I am in awe of you. We had a dinner party for four last night and I may have spent $30 on the salad course. It was a delicious salad, lots of interesting mushrooms and greens, but I do not think that I could feed myself on $30 a week, never mind two of us. Maybe it was all of those years in graduate school that make restraint difficult now that I do not have to be restrained.

  3. Christine says:

    Oh, you used one of my favorite cookbooks!! I love that book.
    Have you made the Vietnamese Hot and Sour soup from there? It is sooo good!! I must admit, I stray from that recipe a bit, and use a good red chili/curry paste for the chilies…but it still is very good!!

  4. Diane says:

    Leftover egg yolks can be used for quiches. Left over egg whites for pavlovas (great for using up summer fruit).


Leave a Reply

