Lentil Loaf

Ahh, lentil loaf.  A staple of vegetarian cooking.  When done right, it can be delicious; however, it could also be a mushy brick.  We had lentil loaf sandwiches last night and this loaf was good.  It may not look like much, but the outside was crisp and the inside flavorful.  The recipe was a mishmash of things I had in the house and in the fridge (namely some french lentil soup that we didn’t want to eat anymore and leftover brown rice from Sunday).

Lentil Loaf

Ingredients:

  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 carrot, chopped finely
  • 1/2 tablespoon olive oil
  • spices (I used crushed red pepper, more garlic, some cumin and salt and pepper)
  • 2 cups cooked French lentils
  • 1 cup cooked brown rice
  • 1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  • Ketchup

To Do:

  1. Preheat the oven to 375F.
  2. Heat the olive oil in a small skillet and add the onions, garlic and carrots.  Saute until they become tender.  Add the spices and cook for a minute or two more.
  3. Mush together all of the other ingredients (preferably with clean hands) or use a big spoon.  Add the onion mixture and mix well.  If the mixture seems too dry, add a bit of water.  If it seems to wet, brown rice or breadcrumbs should do the trick.
  4. Spray a loaf pan with some olive oil.  Spread the lentil loaf mixture evenly in the pan and top with ketchup.
  5. Cover pan with tinfoil and place in the oven for 45 minutes.  Uncover and bake for another 15-20 minutes – until the top looks crusty and a toothpick comes out clean.
  6. Serve with whatever you desire or make sandwiches.

11 Comments on “Lentil Loaf”

  1. Lindsay says says:

    Hey milehimama! A friend from FJ here! I am here to read about frugal living without having to sift through the bullhockey of some other people’s blogs i will not mention by name because I do not want to be rude.
    This recipe looks good, as I am always looking for a good vegetarian recipe. Two questions though
    1. How many people is this recipe for? In terms of adults that is, as I can always halve adult portions when i see my boyfriend’s children.
    2. Is there really a difference in taste do you think if I were to use regular lentils and not french ones? Are they spiced differently or have a huge discrepancy in taste?
    Thanks! Lindsay

  2. Behan says:

    Hey guys, love your blog, I try (mostly in vain, but I try) to keep our diet slanted toward vegetarian and frugal shopping is another code we live by.

    This brings me to the same question as one of Lindsay’s: does it have to be French lentils? Most of my efforts at preparing lentils for my family have been met with displeasure by my normally omnivorous, bordering on foodie, kids. I know the texture can be quite different, and am sure the French would be better… but our options are limited. We live on a sailboat in Mexico, and can’t find fancy lentils here… just the regular split greens, sometimes yellow.

    Thanks for any thoughts/opinions on the lentil selection!

    Behan

    • tinaspins says:

      You can certainly try to use regular lentils. I am not sure about how the recipe would turn out because the texture of regular lentils vs. french are different, but I’m sure it would work somehow! Give it a shot. Worse comes to worse, you have some lentil mush that you can roll into balls and fry a la falafel.

  3. Allison says:

    I made this last night!
    So good!
    Thanks!

  4. Carolyn says:

    I just made this using regular lentils from the bulk bin and it came out wonderfully. I cooked them with a little extra water and made sure they were sufficiently broken down so everything could combine. Delicious recipe, thank you!!!

  5. […] butter) Kale, Mushroom, Tomato and Onion Salad (Simply Raw Recipes) Lentil Soup (use real butter) Lentil Loaf (30 Bucks a Week) Linguine with Eggplant (I Am Not a Chef) Mashed Potatoes with Caramelized Onions […]

  6. […] love our lentil loaf and all of its iterations.  The loaf above was actually created from a 16 bean soup (strained), […]

  7. Lady Sue says:

    Just found your blog..I put on a big pot of Lentil soup this morning and am always looking for recipes that I can use for the leftovers since I’m single and on a tight budget. I’m sure I can make this recipe work..Thanks

  8. unemployed dragon says:

    As a persistently Unemployed Dragon, I’ve come to love looking for different recipes for lentil loaf. My search led me to your blog…I LOVE that you feed two of you on 30 bucks….AWESOME!

    In your own effort to live cheap, you’re helping me tremendously!

  9. Thanks in support of sharing such a nice thought, article is pleasant, thats why i have read it completely


Leave a comment