Anadama Bread

I came across this recipe in Secrets of a Jewish Baker – a gift to me from my little sister – and decided to try it out. The loaves came together beautifully, rose well (I let them rise in a microwave – totally draft free!) and taste delicious! The mix of cornmeal, wheat and regular flour is excellent and I love the addition of molasses.  Some people might not like the amount of molasses, so proceed with caution if you’re not fond of the favor – just use less.

I am posting the recipe for hand-kneading although I used the food processor method, which is slightly different.

Anadama Bread from Secrets of a Jewish Baker

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/4 cups warm water
  • 1 package active dry yeast (2.25 teaspoons)
  • 2 tablespoons unsalted butter (I used a tablespoon of butter and a tablespoon of olive oil)
  • 1/4 cup molasses
  • 1/2 cup medium-grind yellow cornmeal
  • 2 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1-2 cups unbleached all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt

To Do:

  1. Sprinkle yeast over warm water and allow to soften.  Add soften butter, molasses, cornmeal, whole wheat flour, 1 cup of the all-purpose flour and the salt.  Stir until the dough comes away from the sides of the bowl and add more all-purpose flour, if you need to.  Knead until dough is smooth and elastic (10 minutes).  FOR THE FOOD PROCESSOR: Place 1/4 cup warm water in bowl of food processor and sprinkle the yeast on top.  Add 1 cup of ice water, butter, molasses, cornmeal and whole wheat flour and pulse until combined.  Add 1 cup of all-purpose flour and salt and pulse until dough comes away from the side of the bowl.  Add more flour gradually, if necessary.  Process for 2 minutes or knead by hand.
  2. Oil a large bowl and place the ball of dough in it – coat with oil, cover and let it rise in a warm place for about an hour (or until doubled).  I placed a cup of water in the microwave and let it heat up for 2 minutes and replaced the cup with my bowl of dough to rise…excellent trick!
  3. Punch dough down, cut in half and shape into 2 balls.  Cover and let rest for 10 minutes (in microwave for me!).
  4. Shape the loaves for placement in two greased loaf pans.  See this how to video for more info.
  5. Cover up the pans with a towel and proof the them until the loaves rise up over the opts of the pan (about an hour).  Sometime during this rise, place one rack in the middle of the oven and another on the bottom.  Put a pan on the bottom rack and preheat the oven to 375F.
  6. When the loaves are done, brush with water, top with sesame seeds, sea salt, nothing or whatever your heart desires, and slash once down the length of each loaf.
  7. Place loaf pans on the middle rack and throw a dozen ice cubes or a cup of boiling water (CAREFULLY) in the pan on the bottom rack – this will provide steam baking.
  8. Bake for 35-45 minutes.  For the last 5-10 minutes remove the loaves from the pan and bake on a baking sheet for a super crusty loaf.
  9. Let cool, if you can, before slicing.
  10. ENJOY!

2 Comments on “Anadama Bread”

  1. Molly says:

    My grandpa always made this bread, he told me when I was little, that it was named by a baker who was mad at his wife, Anna. That you had to knead it like you were mad at someone. 🙂

  2. We had this a lot growing up and we got the recipe from a good friend named Anice. When I was little I thought somehow she was the Anna in the title. Just yesterday I was thinking I should make it, I haven’t had it in over 20 years.


Leave a comment