Accidental Grape Jelly

We received a few bunches of beautiful looking concord grapes a while back from some friends’ CSA.  Not knowing what to do with them besides munch away, I though to make a grape syrup to use with our counter-top seltzer maker.  I combined the grapes with a cup or so of sugar and a cup or two of water and waited for the magic to happen.

 

I think I waited too long for aforementioned magic.  When I pressed the grapes through a fine sieve and then transported the contents into a jar for cooling, the next day I found the seal clamped tight.  Laboriously trying to open the jar, I found out that my “syrup” had really turned to grape jelly.  I’m not complaining.  We’ve had some with PB on sandwiches and, even better, using a tablespoon of jam and a tablespoon of peanut butter mixed in with frozen bananas to create a type of vegan “ice-cream”.  Jam all that into a food processor until smooth and then enjoy with a big spoon.  Happy accidents.


11 Comments on “Accidental Grape Jelly”

  1. susan says:

    How cool! I need ideas or help if you have any? I made refrigerator hot pickled pepper slices. They are way to hot to eat. Any way to preserve them or use them to be able to store long term? (I pickled in a simple vinegar sugar garlic mixture. No way I can get through the jar in 7-10 days)

    • tinaspins says:

      Hey Susan, I think they’ll last longer than you think – just give them a whiff when you open the jar and look out for moldiness. Once you started the process, you can’t take them back out and attempt to repickle. Sorry! An alternative would be to maybe blend them all together to make a hot pepper sauce OR to bake them into a bread or something. That might dissipate the hotness. Or, you could give them to someone who loves hot peppers.

      • susan says:

        Thanks Tina. What I did was ignore them. I was sad I used my last harvest for something I couldn’t eat! I was then going to try to drain liquid and add new vinegar/sugar mix to the jar. Luckily I tried them first, they turned out fantastic! I guess they needed a few days to mellow. Friends tried them at a pizza party and now my peppers are almost gone.

    • Kim H in VA says:

      As long as you keep them in the refrigerator they should last much longer than that.

  2. Granny says:

    Delicious. My mother used to make a brown sugar patty that was best when she forgot it until it began to over-bake. Made the inside texture an absolutely delightful contrast with the crust. Now I could see adding some of your jelly on top for an even more enjoyable “accident” in taste and texture!

  3. The Jeffersonville Scribe says:

    Accident? I think not! There are no accidents for the creative mind, only opportunities. Enjoy every bite.

  4. Eric says:

    Tina – what a happy accident!

    Susan – Tina’s right, you can’t undo it. Maybe chop them, add sugar and make it into hot relish? It will keep longer in the fridge, especially if there’s enough vinegar and/or sugar.

  5. Thanks for the wonderful recipe and the commenters in this community is just amazing. Fun how I get so much information from the entry and the members as well. Living a healthy life can really be indeed yummy and happy still.

  6. Loving every little thing about this sweet accident!🙂 Thanks for sharing this fun and very helpful post.

  7. I’m enjoying your site ~ with the grapes, I found that throwing them in the blender for a minute and then straining them makes the jelly a lot more fun ~ AND the juice makes an amazing grape juice pie! YUM!


Leave a Reply

