2/26 Receipt

I went shopping at the coop earlier this week but promptly lost the receipt (typical). In any case, I spent about $17 and got us:

2 red grapefruit
a rutabaga
4 cameo apples
a bag of white mushrooms
a head of red lettuce
raw cashews
a dozen eggs
a bunch of collards
1 large vidalia onion
1 red pepper

Tina also bought a quart of milk at a bodega for $2, bringing us to $19 for this week.


3 Comments on “2/26 Receipt”

  1. Ann Flora says:

    I’ve recently found your blog and am amazed at your food budget. I haven’t managed such low spending here in Kentucky, where I thought the cost of living was lower. Maybe I need to move to Brooklyn.
    Although I’ve seen posts about specific dishes you’ve made (tried the spanish tortilla), I’d love to see more about how you turn the goods bought into the week’s eats. Just a quick list, nothing elaborate. Then maybe I’d understand how you do it. Thanks for the inspiration.

  2. […] that we had quite a bit of money ($11) left over from the previous week, I decided it was OK to get some stuff at the Pioneer for the […]


Leave a Reply

