Caramelized Tomato Jam

I had originally planned to make this jam, but somehow didn’t have enough green tomatoes, so I threw in a few red ones.  And then, I think I might have scorched, I mean caramelized, the jam.

Whatever happened, the jam is good.  We had some with cheese sandwiches tonight and I had a bit on toast with almond butter for breakfast.  It worked both ways!  Ideas for this jam include:

  • put it on top of yogurt
  • bread, butter and jam
  • savory jam thumbprint cookies
  • a glaze for vegetables/tofu/whatever

Here’s the recipe, enough for 2 pint jars.

Caramelized Tomato Jam

Ingredients:

  • green and red tomatoes, enough to equal 2lbs roughly chopped
  • scant 1 pound sugar
  • zest and juice of one lemon
  • 1 vanilla bean, using the seeds scraped out
  • 2 tablespoons fresh ginger, peeled and finely chopped

To Do:

  1. Combine everything in a very large pot, stir and bring to a boil.
  2. Bring it down to a bubbling simmer and let it cook down until it reaches a jam-like consistency (about an hour or so), 220F on a candy thermometer is the general rule.  Once it gets past 200F, things will start to move quickly, so keep an eye on it and keep stirring.  I think this was my mistake – I turned to clean some dishes and BAM, the sweet smell of caramelization was upon me.
  3. Spoon the jam into sterilized canning jars and proceed to give them a hot water bath for 10 minutes.  Let cool in the water and remove.  If you don’t want to go through the trouble of canning and think you’re up to eating a lot of this jam, store it in the fridge for up to two weeks.

We also spent $5.95 at the grocery store tonight – 4 rolls, 4 limes, romaine, cheese and a small head of red cabbage.


6 Comments on “Caramelized Tomato Jam”

  1. I love the versatility of this jam, it’s savoury because of the tomatoes but you threw the vanilla in there and it just … wow. It’s just possibility. I just picked up some green tomatoes at the market and I’m sure my MIL’s tomatoes are just about ready …

  2. Sandy says:

    I make this jam with a slight variation, using chilies rather than vanilla and ginger. The amount depends on the variety of pepper but the aim is to make it pretty zippy. We put it on everything that doesn’t move fast enough (burgers, pizza, goat cheese, grilled cheese, etc.).

  3. Sandy says:

    That sounds great, much fancier than my simple one, and I’ll try it next time. Our garden tomatoes are history as it’s triple digits in South Texas, so it’s off to the grocery.

  4. […] of necessity to get rid of all of the apples from apple picking.  This might be the new hit after Tomato Jam. It’s spicy, sour and a bit sweet from the apples and caramelized onions.  Perfect with […]


Leave a Reply

