Blueberry Syrup

I recently came into an snow-cone machine, or more appropriately, an ice shaver.  Visions of icy treats immediately ran through my brain.  The weather in NYC has been unbearably muggy and our 6th floor apartment constantly feels like an oven.  The first ices simply had some lemon juice and simple syrup poured over them – divine.  We then decided to make a simple syrup with blueberries…WOW!  Very easy, very delicious.  Can be used with some seltzer for a fruit soda (see above pic), mixed in a cocktail or poured over shaved ice.

Blueberry Syrup

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup water
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon lemon juice
  • 1 cup (or more) of blueberries

To Do:

  1. Put everything in a saucepan and bring to a boil.
  2. Let simmer until it thickens, about 10 minutes.
  3. Cool and strain using a fine mesh strainer.  Save sugared fruit.  Put on icecream, yogurt, biscuits or eat with a spoon.
  4. Pour syrup in a jar and store in the fridge.  Use for syrup-y goodness.

6 Comments on “Blueberry Syrup”

  1. sara says:

    …. Just have to say I’ve been following you guys for about 3 months now and finally made it official this week: you made the bookmarks toolbar.

    I’m also a PSFC member and spending $80 a week (plus) for two people (and a babe). You guys inspire me to remember not to waste what ive got and to stay creative (almost anything can make a meal). Thanks.

    • tinaspins says:

      Hey Sara – thanks for writing and for putting us in your toolbar! We are honored. D-week, working our shift this Saturday too. Nothing like some Coop checkout to get hungry. I think staying creative and not wasting food is the best way to put what we try to do in words. Keep up your frugal shopping!

  2. […] Blueberry Syrup I made this for future palate-expanding recipes like blueberry crepes, plus a good way to use up ripe blueberries. […]

  3. Amanda says:

    Hi,

    I imagine this would work just as well with any kind of berry? Also, I wonder if it would freeze? I love your blog. We are a family of 5 on a tight budget and I’ve got a few good ideas from your posts.

    • tinaspins says:

      Hrm, I’m not sure how well it would freeze. Maybe the amount of sugar would make it OK? Give it a shot with a small amount. And yes, any berry or fruit (I made some peach syrup the other day) would work. I bet plums would be delicious!!

      • Amanda says:

        Hmmm… maybe not. I was just trying to figure out how to use them when they were in season and cheaper, but still have some for later. I imagine I could just freeze the berries though (which is what I usually do) and then just make the syrup from the frozen berries.


Leave a Reply

