Bitter Greens

I’ve been getting a lot of requests from folks (hi mom!) and commenters about using bitter greens.  All I can say is WILTED SALADS.  I know it doesn’t sound great, but it is tasty and a good way to tame bitter greens.

  1. Wash your greens well.
  2. Saute some chopped shallots or red onion in a tablespoon or two of olive oil (depends on how much salad you’re dressing) until they’re soft and a bit golden.
  3. Pour in some good vinegar (sherry, cider, champagne) or lemon juice and mix around.
  4. Mix immediately with greens.  Add other vegetables if you like and some nuts.

3 Comments on “Bitter Greens”

  1. Anon says:

    Throw them in a quiche. That will mellow them out too.

  2. Vanessa says:

    Thanks for this little post on bitter greens. They are so darn good for you but not the kind of food I crave. I will have to try the wilted salad. May I throw out another food for your thought? I love swiss chard and I only make it one way, saute them with some garlic and some oyster sauce. How about you? How do you like your swiss chard?

  3. tinaspins says:

    I like the idea of a quiche! We also put them in omelets and top pizza with them.

    Vanessa, I love swiss chard. We can eat it raw (chop super finely, add lots of lemon juice, olive oil, S&P and grated parm or pecorino. If you search swiss chard in our search box, there are a BUNCH of recipes that come up. I particularly like the Swiss Chard Tart for the summer, but Swiss Chard Lasagna is excellent for colder months.


Leave a Reply

