Pretty Pink Pasta Salad

My organization recently had an event with a lot of leftover food.  What struck me as extremely pretty, yet wasteful, was the bed of red cabbage that a lot of the antipasti and veggies were laid out on.  I took some of that, a bunch of olives and some cherry tomatoes home and starting making a crazy pasta salad for dinner.  I also used some greens from our garden, which were delicious and added a nice sharp and peppery bite to the salad.  I bet dandelion greens would be great too, but arugula would work in a pinch.

Inspired by They Draw and Cook, below is what I did to make the pasta salad (double-click for larger instructions!).


6 Comments on “Pretty Pink Pasta Salad”

  1. Jennie says:

    I’ve done the same thing with the kale on veggie platters from my work events… glad to see I’m not the only one!

  2. tinaspins says:

    The amount of food that is thrown away from these events is SO INCREDIBLE to me. I tried to get as much stuff as I could, but then I sort of look crazy to office mates.

  3. Sandy says:

    This site is now a fave and inspirational to this quilter. Can you imagine these recipes/artwork transformed into mini-quilts in a kitchen? The possibilities…

  4. tinaspins says:

    Oh yeah! That would make a phenomenal quilt!

  5. I like the sound of these quilts!

    Great recipe, thank you, love the drawing idea!

  6. doctorcrankenstein says:

    I love the drawing for dummies approach haha.

    I don’t particularly understand laying food out on a bed of “presentation food”. Seems incredibly wasteful to me, but that’s possibly just my inner student cringing.


Leave a Reply

