Dirty

The plot is planted! Right now we’re just using the left side of the bed (with the smaller grid sections) because we may end up sharing with somebody else. In any case, we planted the following in our 4X4″ section:

Carrots
Tatsoi
Buttercup Squash
Yellow Squash
Beets (Bull’s Blood Beets, to be specific)
Radishes

All of these came from the garden’s seed stores, so we didn’t even have to buy our own. Now we just have to water and wait until we start to see some seedlings.

I also spent some time over the weekend working on the communal garden areas, where we turned over some new beds and planted tomatoes, okra, peppers, cauliflower, and zucchini.


4 Comments on “Dirty”

  1. Marcia says:

    That’s very exciting! We picked our first carrot this weekend. A bit too early. It’s an inch and a quarter long.

  2. I’m proud of y’all! Keep it up! I planted the same beets too!

  3. Daisy Mae says:

    I’m amazed at how much you planted in such a small plot. At my house I have a bunch of raised beds in the backyard. I’ve made 3×3 beds specifically for my squash plants. And wish I had made then 4×4. And I only put 1 plant per bed!

    • P says:

      Yeah, we’ll see whether the squash plants end up outgrowing their little areas. I figured that since it’s our first major attempt at gardening (i.e., not on a fire escape), we might do better to plant a few more things in the event that some of our stuff doesn’t pull through.


Leave a Reply

