Pasta with Broccoli Rabe and White Beans

Okay, so Tina thought that this meal turned out well. I’m a little skeptical – of my own work, that is – this was my doing. The idea was to have some nice linguine (left over from a couple weeks ago) with some white beans and steamed broccoli rabe. I cooked the beans in the pressure cooker, but I seem to have underestimated the necessary cooking time and they came out a little tough. To make up for it, i decided to cook them with some butter and garlic in a pan for a bit. This mostly softened them up. Mostly.

Then for the rabe, I separated the stems from the leaves and steamed them both in our bamboo steamer. I put the stems in first, figuring they would need more time. But it turns out they even needed more than more, and were “somewhat” chewy at serving.

Tina got some cheese from the coop – we thought it was pecorino, but it turned out to be something else. In any case, it was grated over the top without incident.

Anyway, there were some textural issues but the flavors actually worked really well and I think it would be worth trying again.


2 Comments on “Pasta with Broccoli Rabe and White Beans”

  1. Ali says:

    I’ve tried something similar and it worked out wonderfully: http://www.101cookbooks.com/archives/panfried-corona-beans-kale-recipe.html (I left out the nuts, but you don’t need to!)

  2. I love meals that make me furrow my brow in a smidge of confusion, the kind that aren’t bad but the next time you have a go at it things will definitely work out. I just discovered goat quark at our farmer’s market and it’s perfect for stirring in a bit of creaminess to a dish.


Leave a Reply

