Navy Bean Bachelor Burgers

The wife was out of town this weekend, leaving me to my own culinary devices. Looking through the fridge on Friday night, I found the rest of the cooked navy beans left over from the chard dish we made earlier in the week and decided to try my hand at homemade, neurotoxin-free veggie burgers.

Feeling too impatient to look up a recipe, I just sort of threw things together. I dumped the drained beans (about 3 cups) into a bowl, added a handful of nyf (from Tina’s homemade veggie sausage adventure, to be published soon), some leftover chopped red onion from the Food Inc. potluck, and two handfuls of rolled oats. With a dash of salt and pepper, I mashed everything together and left it in the fridge for about 10 minutes to firm up. After that, it was just a matter of making a couple patties and then pan-frying them.

Didn’t have any bread in the house and the weather was crappy, so I just topped them off with some leftover salsa, cilantro, and a dab of sour cream, and ate ’em with a knife and fork like a real gentleman.


6 Comments on “Navy Bean Bachelor Burgers”

  1. Elaine says:

    Ha! The eating-it-like-a-real-gentleman part made me laugh out loud, a good gut busting chuckle. The burger looks delicious! Very sturdy too – like it wouldn’t fall apart into bits when cut genteel-ly into with a knife and fork. Also it is a very appetizing golden brown color. And the salsa/sour cream topping looks very fresh and exciting. I will try this.

  2. cooksalliance says:

    This looks good and I love the gentleman part the best! Way to go cooking your own!

  3. P says:

    I aim to please, Lainey. I would actually make these again and I feel like the flavors were versatile enough to go with any number of accompaniments – you could use them as a falafel substitute, for example. Or even with a nice tomato sauce, maybe?

  4. I love it! Have you seen the 101cookbooks version of a veggie burger? Heidi uses the actual burger as the bun and stuffs the usual toppings in the middle. Maybe next time instead of a knife and fork?? They’re divine. These look just as tasty though!

  5. jay says:

    That looks soo good.

  6. […] the green beans and had them with the rice blend Tina got at Trader Joe’s and some homemade bachelor burgers out of lentils and white beans. I roasted the brussels sprouts tonight to stretch out the remainder […]


Leave a Reply

