Chinatown Morning

It’s a rainy and gray day in NYC.  After a weekend full of sunshine, I am definitely feeling sleepy.  This morning, I had hopes of hitting up the Coop before work as we’ve got some apartment chores to handle after work, but I couldn’t wake up.  I got off the B train at Grand Street and hit the first food stand I could find and got some stuff to tide us over until we can go to the Coop and then hit Jack’s before work.

  • Blueberries: 1.50
  • Broccoli: 1.50
  • Baby bok choy: 1.50
  • Pasta: 1.00
  • Milk: 1.00 (it’s time to start making some homemade yogurt again)

Total: $6.50

Saveur came in the mail on Friday and I really want to make this and this tonight.


5 Comments on “Chinatown Morning”

  1. Nadia Payan says:

    Yum, that cheese and pepper pasta looks delish. Did you also happen to catch it on Smitten Kitchen (http://smittenkitchen.com/2010/02/spaghetti-cacio-e-pepe/) ? It always looks so scrumptious!

  2. Terri says:

    I wonder why spring is the time for homemade yogurt. I have the same yogurt maker as you mention on your yogurt entry. It works great and keeps everything a consistent temperature. Mine always turns out pretty thin, but it tastes awesome. Maybe you’ll do another post with some more pointers.

    • tinaspins says:

      What kind of starter/milk are you using? I use 1% milk and nabbed some starter from a co-worker for this batch (I think it was Stonyfield low-fat, but I will have to ask).

      Haven’t tried it yet, but it looked pretty thick this morning when I put it in the fridge to set – will let you know soon!

  3. […] Yesterday’s dinner ambitions were realized: cheese and pepper pasta, plus broccoli with garlic and hot pepper. […]


Leave a Reply

