FAST Puff Pastry Almond “Croissants”

My awesome friend Monica is in town and I decided to make a little treat this morning before heading off to work with the aforementioned puff pastry.  I tried to thaw a sheet in the fridge overnight, but it wasn’t quite thawed out when I woke up – oh well.

Cut a sheet into 4 squares and then spooned some almond filling (food processed almond slivers, dash of cinnamon, about a tablespoon of vanilla sugar and butter each) on top and rolled.  Brushed the tops with a beaten egg and baked at 350F for about 20 minutes.  They didn’t look super pretty, but smelled good and were delicious warm out of the oven.

I’m sure if it wasn’t first thing in the morning and if the puff pastry had thawed properly, I could have made them look better, but who cares?  Monica and I didn’t.



Leave a Reply

