First Slaw of the Season

As a person who works in Manhattan, St. Patrick’s Day may very well be my absolute least-favorite holiday. As a counter-measure against thousands of underage drunken hooligans, we deployed our first slaw of spring, sporting the traditional Irish colors: orange white and green.

The carrots were shredded up in the food processor, mixed with chopped leeks and currants, then dressed with lemon juice, a little vinegar, a spoonful of nayonaise, and salt and pepper.


6 Comments on “First Slaw of the Season”

  1. cooksalliance says:

    Wow that looks awesome and so colorful. We do eat with our eyes don’t we?? I’m grilling steak tonight since its nice here in Northern California. This weekend I am cooking up a huge batch of lasagna for hubbies Saturday crew. I’ll post it as soon as I can. In the mean time gimme a fork I am so ready to eat this dish!! Slurp.. 8^)

    Hugs, Dee~

  2. Gayle says:

    Leeks! Brilliant! Noted!
    Esp when I am so sick of the Southern version of carrot slaw we get in Va., with canned crushed pineapple running around in there, ugh…

  3. jen says:

    that looks fantastic – finally something interesting and new i can do with all the carrots i seem to have in the fridge!

  4. […] to get rid of part of the many pounds of carrots I seem to have stockpiled.  Mmmmm…slaw.  Recipe can be found here. Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)Spring SunSept 14-18: MondayHow to Entertain […]

  5. vanginney says:

    I made this salad and added hemp seeds – it was so very yummy, and will be my lunch for the next few days.

  6. […] Glazed Carrots and Currants Wanting to make something beyond a another carrot slaw (which we both love), I decided to try my hand at some glazed carrots and they came out great!  […]


Leave a Reply

