What Am I?

This past weekend was chock full of pre-holiday merriment, which for us meant a lot of cooking in both the Christmas and Hanukkah traditions. Of the several new recipes we tried out over the course of two dinner parties and a party party, my favorite may have been the vegetarian chopped liver I threw together for the first night of Hanukkah.

I worked in the middle of Manhattan’s garment district (ahem…”Fashion Center”…makes it sound less sweatshoppy) for several years and would often get mock chopped liver on a bagel from the kosher dairy restaurant around the corner from my office. It was delicious, but not cheap. Little did I know how easy it is to make at home. I found several recipes on line that recommended a range of ingredients, but here’s what I cobbled together:

Mock Chopped Liver
3 onions, chopped
3 cups raw cashews
2 eggs, hard boiled
olive oil
salt & pepper

1. Caramelize the onion in an appropriate pan, then blot (relatively) dry.
2. Put the onions, cashews, and eggs in the food processor, blend until smooth.
3. Add salt and pepper to taste. If the mixture is too thick (i.e., as thick as peanut butter), try adding a little olive oil to thin it out a bit. The chopped liver should be fairly dense, but still easy to spread.
4. Serve!


4 Comments on “What Am I?”

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve never heard of this before, but it sounds delicious. If I eat this at home (as opposed to bringing it to a party), what else could I serve it with/on? Or is primarily a bagel/cracker spread?

  2. Jordan says:

    Another mock chopped liver.

    This one will blow your socks off. Made constantly by my wonderful grandmother may she rest in peace.

    1 can leseur peas
    walnuts (toasted)
    onions (sliced thinly and sauteed until brown)
    salt and pepper to taste

    not sure of the proportions unfortunately, but I feel you could sort of do it to taste. I imagine 1/2 lb of walnuts and one large onion would do it. You blend all ingredients in a food processor until smooth then spread it on anything. It has to be canned leseur peas and the onions must be well caramelized and the walnuts must be toasted.

  3. […] dagwood can provide deep satisfaction. This little fella, who features some dill havarti and veggie chopped liver with a healthy pile of cabbage leaves fresh from the garden and a little deli brown mustard, all […]


Leave a Reply

