Pear Upside Down Cake

Thank you Mark Bittman.  Again.  I recently recommended his “How to Cook Everything Vegetarian” to a friend who wanted to ask for a thick, comprehensive and vegetarian-friendly cookbook for the holidays.  This recipe comes from the NYT’s though and it worked beautifully.

I didn’t have maple syrup though.  Instead, I used syrup that I had reduced from a friend’s gift of canned peaches and pears a few months back.  We finished the pears and peaches in record time (soooo good) and I decided the juice it was packed in was too good to waste so I reduced it down until it became an even thicker syrup and kept it in the fridge.  I used it in this pear cake and it tasted divine.  Score another one for the food recyclers of the world!

The pear topping was soft and sweet, but not cloying.  The underlying cake layer had a great vanilla cake and an excellent crumb.  Our dinner party guests brought some vanilla ice-cream and the two paired extremely well.  I baked it in a cast iron skillet and I thought it baked better there than in a normal cake pan.  Something about cast iron…

Anyways, go here for the recipe.  Easy and great for the holidays!



Leave a Reply

