*Addendum: Butternut Squash Casserole

Not expecting much, I made this the other night and it exceeded my expectations.  Really good as a dinner with a salad on the side or equally delicious for breakfast the next day.  It was hard to decide whether the leftovers should be breakfast or lunch.

I got the original recipe from the NY Times and tweaked it a bit (used goat cheese instead of Gruyere, 4 eggs instead of 3 and soymilk).  I also roasted the squash the day before since our oven was being used for something or other and baking it before hand really cut the prep time…a lot.  Enjoy!

Weekly spending: $1.77 (head of lettuce and daikon radish)

*As a commenter noted, this can be sweet (some squashes are sweet than others and butternut squash gets nice and sweet if you roast it), and I actually added a LOT of parsley and a bit of chopped spinach to the mixture as well.


3 Comments on “*Addendum: Butternut Squash Casserole”

  1. susan says:

    that looks fantastic…i will be adding that on to the thanksgiving spread….thanks again for another great link

  2. Sarah B says:

    Made this last night; it was good, but a tad sweet for me (sometimes squash go that way…) I think next time I’ll add broccoli or something else green.

    (my mum used to make it with zucchini🙂


Leave a Reply

