This Week’s Receipt

See it below.  The Coop finally got red quinoa in bulk!  I am very excited about this turn of events.  The celery and fennel will be combined to make a Fennel and Celery salad of some sort.  This recipe which includes citrus has piqued my interest, but maybe I’ll try using plums or figs instead!

I also made some tomato jam from the tomatoes we got from Phil’s aunt and my friend Monica since they were getting a bit bruise-y.  Try using this easy recipe from Bittman to make a spread that will knock your socks off.  We had some last night with some cheese toasts and black bean soup for dinner.

9.1.09 receipt

Early in the week I had bought some chocolate syrup and a tub of plain yogurt from Jack’s ($2, don’t ask, I needed a quick chocolate milk fix) and some bread from Pioneer ($1).  Added to our current receipt, our weekly total is thus far: $27.46.  Which means we’ve got $2.54 left.


3 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt”

  1. Ayngelina says:

    Do you think Bittman’s recipe would freeze well? I can’t eat a pint of this in a week but if it froze it would be great to store.

    • tinaspins says:

      Hmm, well I know he says it keeps for a week, but we’ve had it for a few weeks without any incident. Why don’t you make a smaller batch? Or you can try freezing it…not sure how well it would thaw. Let us know if you do!

  2. Ayngelina says:

    I read the comments section on Bittman’s post and apparently some have frozen it and it was fine.

    I made it last night and it was so good.


Leave a Reply

