Peach Tart

DSC03646

I have a problem where I start to use a recipe and then decide to throw it out the window after realizing a) I don’t have some ingredients and b) I just don’t feel like using a stick of butter. Originally, I had made the crust for this tart to go with the lovely little tomatoes we got in last week’s CSA (see recipe here). I ended up with enough dough for two crusts, so I froze one. I then wanted to make an eggplant/chickpea tart, but ended up making too much. So I decided to make a sweet tart, but we didn’t have any fruit save a jar of homemade canned peaches we received as a housewarming present.

This recipe from Epicurious was my jumping off point, but the only idea I took from it was the almond paste. First, I took some of the canned peaches and plopped them in a colander to which I added some brown sugar, smooshed the mixture around with a wooden spoon and let it sit while I made the almond paste (I also saved the reserved liquid for some cocktail idea).  For the almond paste, I blended up some slivered almonds, an egg yolk, a bit of vanilla, a teaspoon of oil, some salt and some soy milk (no butter). I then threw in some dried coconut to make it have a more paste-like consistency. Slathered that on the bottom of the pre-baked tart crust and had a some leftover, so I decided to throw in some dried cranberries, flour, baking soda and baking powder and an egg white to the mixture and made some ugly, but tasty cookies.  Added the peaches on top of the almond paste and stuck the thing in the oven at 350F for about 20 minutes (crossed my fingers). It came out GREAT. We brought it to a friend’s house and he got some vanilla ice cream to go with it. Heaven in a crust.


One Comment on “Peach Tart”

  1. David Rubeo says:

    Saag Paneer (Homemade cheese with Spinach)
    2 tbsp veg oil
    5 med cloves garlic, finely chopped
    2 tbsp finely chopped ginger
    1 cup tomato sauce
    1 tbsp corriander seed, ground
    1 tsp cumin seed, ground
    1 tsp ground cayenne
    1 tsp salt
    2 – 1ooz pkgs frozen chopped spinach
    2 cups cubed fried homemade cheese or tofu
    1/2 cup heavy cream
    1 tsp Garam Masaala

    Heat oil and stir fry garlic and ginger. Stir in tomato sauce, corriander, cumin, cayenne and salt. Partially cover and simmer 7-8 minutes. Stir in undrained thawed spinach, cover and simmer 8-10 minutes. Stir in cheese/tofu cubes and simmer another 3-4 min. Stir in cream, garam masaala, and serve hot or cold.


Leave a Reply

