The Wonders of Hummus

hummus

Hummus is delicious, nutritious, and always a gracious party guest. Hummus is also so easy to make at home that it makes you wonder how they get away with charging four bucks for an 8 oz container at the supermarket. And like many things, the homemade version usually tastes much better – especially because you can keep taste-testing until you’ve customized your hummus to fit your particular tastes. I more or less never measure out any ingredients when making hummus, so the amounts here are really just approximations. I recommend having a little extra of everything on hand so that you can mix and match to your heart’s content. I will say up front that in the $30/w household, we like our hummus to pack a garlicy wallop. The breath-conscious may wish to adjust accordingly.

Rich, Delicious Hummus

4 c. chick peas (we usually by them dried then rehydrate in the crock pot – for this, use broth instead of water for extra flavor)
1/3 c. tahini
3 cloves garlic (peeled)
1/3 c. olive oil
1/4 c. lemon juice
paprika
salt

1. In the food processor, grind the garlic with a little bit of the oil.
2. Add all the rest of the ingredients (excluding the salt and paprika) and blend until smooth. This will leave you with a relatively thick hummus, if you prefer a thinner variety, add a little water (start with 1/4 cup maybe) and re-blend. Salt to taste and blend again.
3. Spoon into a bowl, drizzle some more olive oil over the top, and sprinkly with paprika.
4. Serve with warm pita or veggies, spread on sandwiches, whatever.

You can pretty much adjust any of your proportions during step 2. Add some more lemon if you want more bite. If the flavor is too strong, add more chick peas and maybe some more tahini. And of course, you can add all sorts of extra ingredients (roasted red peppers, harissa, olives) to make your own versions of any special flavored hummus they sell in the store.


7 Comments on “The Wonders of Hummus”

  1. Erin says:

    I was once in mid hummus preparation when I realized I didn’t have any lemon juice. Searching the cupboards for a suitable alternative, I settled upon balsamic vinegar. I’ve not gone back to lemon juice since. (And of course, cumin goes well with just about everything). I think I could live on hummus!

  2. Cate says:

    I LOVE making my own hummus! I seriously don’t understand why anyone buys it either.

  3. Nicole says:

    I have just recently making my own tahini and it makes all of the difference in the world. We are lucky enough to have a cheap source of sesame seeds- I use 2 cups of seeds warmed just enough to release some of the oils-quarter cup of olive oil-process and drizzle in another quarter cup of oil. Process this til it is runny. Oh my that hummus is so good.

    • tinaspins says:

      That sounds amazing! Wow. We can get pretty cheap sesame seeds in bulk at the Coop – maybe we’ll have to attempt this! Thanks.

  4. Em says:

    Can you give some specifics about how you rehydrate dried chickpeas in a crockpot? (Amount of time, water, heat, etc). I always seem to have a really hard time rehydrating dried beans…

    • tinaspins says:

      Sure! I just stick the chickpeas in a crockpot and fill it water and salt it and let them cook for about 3-4 hours on HIGH. No presoaking required!

  5. Sarah says:

    I’ve been making hummus with white beans instead of chickpeas (crazy sale on white beans) and it’s delicious – more mild, but I too love the garlic, so it packs some heat.

    This site is GREAT!!


Leave a Reply

