This Week’s Receipt: August 10, 2009

coop receipt 8.10.09

New receipt with something we’ve never tried before – spelt berries!  Very interested in trying some sort of risotto concoction with them.  I also bought $1 worth of bread from Jack’s (4 onion rolls), which brings our total to $22.12.  We’ll be getting some yummy stuff from our last (oh well) CSA pickup today:

1 bu. Italian Parsely
1lb Norland Red Potatoes (Yipes! We have a LOT of potatoes)
1 bu. U-Choy
1 bu. Green Onions
1 Red Oak Lettuce
1/2 lb Cherry Tomatoes (I am VERY excited about these)


6 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt: August 10, 2009”

  1. Jean says:

    Cook and mash the potatoes with some milk and butter, then freeze them! Great basis for potato pancakes or to dress up and make twice baked potato filling.

    • tinaspins says:

      Thanks for the tip – we’re big fans of mashed potatoes, but want to do something more summery with them. I’m thinking various potato salads, including an Indian-inspired chickpea/potato cold one. Stay tuned for what we do with them!

  2. Jean says:

    Love this site, by the way!!

  3. Allie says:

    I like to make salads using spelt. Most recently I made one w/ spelt and black beans (http://seidhr.blogspot.com/2009/08/spelt-and-black-bean-salad.html). It was really delicious.

  4. Diane says:

    I’ve been using up potatoes lately in some fridge management, and have been making:
    – spanish tortilla (basically an egg/potato frittata)
    – baked samosas (pastry cover with peas, potatoes, onion, cumin, turmeric at interior, served with mint/cilantro chutney)
    – potato/zucchini/herb fritters
    – roasted potatoes with feta/yogurt dip

  5. Aholly says:

    Your groceries are very cheap! In the city I live in (in Canada) I pay up to $3.5o a pound for organic apples (average is about $2.99). An organic cantaloupe is approx. $7.00.

    I’ve been reading your blog for a couple weeks now, wondering if I can implement some of your money-saving ideas – but I think I’m stymied at the source – buying the groceries.

    Too bad. I guess we have Whole Foods to thank.

    Best of luck.


Leave a Reply

