Sometimes We Get Lucky

Our friends are off on their well deserved honeymoon and asked us if we would like to pick up their partial CSA in Crown Heights, of course we said YES!

To supplement our tummies, we got:

1 bunch Ong Choy Chinese water spinach
1 pound fingerling potatoes
1 bunch Tatsoi greens
1 pound beans
1 pound baby summer squash
1 head Red oak lettuce

Nice.  Tonight we had a salad with some of the red oak lettuce, some celery from a week or two ago and cranberries.  Phil made an awesome tahini dressing.  We also cut the fingerling potatoes into wedges and roasted them with a bit of olive oil, rosemary from our herb garden and S&P and then had sandwiches with some bits of cheese left in the fridge and chickpea patties that I made last week and froze (thawed in the microwave and then baked alongside the potatoes).  A lovely summer meal.

I know we’ve been lazy about posting pictures.  I blame it on the heat.  That will change.

Bought today:

  • ketchup: $1
  • bread: $1 (2 WW rolls)
  • eggs: $1.25 (on sale at our local supermarket)

Total: $3.25-$26.19=$22.94 left for the week


4 Comments on “Sometimes We Get Lucky”

  1. Cate says:

    I’m jealous…but I would have no idea what to do with water spinach or Tatsoi greens!
    I think signing up for a CSA is going to be very high on my to-do list when I get back to the states!

  2. Diane says:

    The water spinach is very perishable, so cook it right away! I like to stir fry it with chilis, garlic & fish sauce.

  3. Jen says:

    From one coop member to another, do you know if we carry chia seeds? And if so, where the heck can I find them?

    (Thanks. Love your blog.)

    • tinaspins says:

      Yes? We do have them, but I know they’re in a funky place. Ask the shopping squad leader the next time you’re in there. I want to say they are near the vitamins.


Leave a Reply

