Collards and Seitan: The Recipe

Here’s how I made the dinner from the last post.

What you’ll need:
seitan steaks
collard greens
1 onion
olive oil
lime juice
crushed red pepper
garlic
salt and pepper

For the seitan, I sauteed homemade seitan steaks (thawed, having been frozen in broth for a couple weeks) with olive oil in a cast iron skillet, sprinkling some salt, pepper, crushed red pepper, and granulated garlic over top. Fresh garlic would have been better, no doubt, but we were in a bit of a hurry. I preheated the oven to 300 while cooking the steaks for a few minutes on both sides. Then, when each side had gotten fairly golden brown, I stuck the pan in the oven. Having cooked a good number of seitan steaks at this point, I think the satuee-then-bake method provides the best results: a bit crispy on the outside, moist and tender on the inside.

So, while the seitan was in the oven, I de-ribbed and coarsely chiffonaded the collards (I mean, the chiffonade was coarse, I remain refined. ZING!) and chopped up a medium onion into crescents. In a medium pan, I first sauteed the onions (again, in olive oil with some s&p) until slightly soft, then added the collards and poured the lime juice over top. I was not stingy with the lime – I used probably a quarter cup for one large bunch of collards, which made the citrus flavor pretty intense. You may want to start with less if you prefer less tartness.

Once the greens had cooked down a little (not enough to become mushy), I transferred the veggies to bowls, topped with a piece of seitan, and served with some toasted baguette (salvaged from a slightly tough day-old loaf).


One Comment on “Collards and Seitan: The Recipe”

  1. Beth Dargis says:

    I usually don’t like Collard Greens, but the way you cooked them sounds tasty.


Leave a Reply

