Collard Ribbons with Homemade Seitan Steak

DSC03473
Phil made this dinner tonight, so he’ll have to give you the recipe, but I wanted to share the beauty of a simple meal.  We had this with pieces of a baguette (day-old from the Coop – receipt to come tomorrow) and it was delicious.  It probably helped that this collards came from my mom’s garden.


8 Comments on “Collard Ribbons with Homemade Seitan Steak”

  1. Melissa says:

    Please do share the recipe! I have failed so many times with seitan it’s not even funny anymore. This looks exactly like the kind of meal we love too.

  2. doloreshayes says:

    Looks delicious! Can’t wait for the recipe! While we are not a vegetarian household we do like to cook veggie a lot of the time. I’ve been hearing a lot about Seitan lately, and if I can convince my partner to stop pronouncing it “Satan” we might just have to try it out!

  3. […] What’s it all about? Collard Ribbons with Homemade Seitan Steak […]

  4. HazelStone says:

    The recipe and this post are pretty light on the kneading and technique. I agree with Melissa, I can use all the help I can get at making seitan.

    • tinaspins says:

      We actually have a post dedicated to seitan. Click here to check it out. We’re actually going to teach some friends how to make seitan from scratch next week, so please stay tuned for that. Maybe we’ll try to post a video or detail the steps more.

    • P says:

      Also, there isn’t all that much kneading and technique if you are making your seitan from vital wheat gluten flour rather than whole wheat flour. The post Tina linked to explains the difference between the two methods and has links to instructions for both.

      • Clea says:

        I’ve found that the best seitan isn’t just vital wheat gluten, but a bit of soy or chickpea flour, too. Helps keep it tender. I knead it in the bread machine on the dough cycle for about 10 minutes, which also helps. And I like the baked in broth version, but crockpot is by far the easiest and I just got one, so I’ll probably be making it that way from now on! (8-9 hours on low, and I make my seitan into 5 or 6 “balls” which I then thinly slice or whatever else).

  5. Jennie says:

    If you’re wanting to use less wheat gluten in your seitan take a look at these recipes http://www.meatandeggfree.com/gluten-free-seitan.html


Leave a Reply

