Garlic Scape Pesto

garlic scape pesto w/zucchini and pasta

garlic scape pesto w/zucchini and pasta

As written, I made the garlic scape pesto last night to have with some Eden Vegetable Spiral Pasta (bought in bulk at the Coop last week).  Let’s just say that you must LOVE garlic to have this pesto and you must LOVE the person who eats it with you – it’s stinky, but delicious!

I modified the recipe from Dorie Greenspan because I didn’t have enough garlic scapes and I didn’t want to use that amoount of olive oil.  So here is my version – it makes enough for about a full pint size jar.

Garlic Scape Pesto

DSC03360

Ingredients:

  • 7-8 garlic scapes, roughly chopped
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup toasted slivered almonds
  • glug or two of olive oil
  • 1-2 tablespoons Parmesan cheese (if you have it, I used some leftover ricotta from 6/24)
  • Salt
  • Pepper

To Do:

  1. Put garlic everything up to the olive oil in the food processor and pulse.   Scrape down sides and pulse again until the mixture comes together.
  2. Add the olive oil in a drizzle until you get the consistency you want (I liked mine kind of creamy, so I didn’t add a lot, just a glug).
  3. Taste.  Add salt if it needs it – if you used Parmesan, you might not need much.  Add some pepper to taste.  Serve with fresh, hot pasta or spread it on sandwiches or even use as a dip for vegetables.

16 Comments on “Garlic Scape Pesto”

  1. Cate says:

    I still haven’t tried garlic scapes, although I keep seeing really great looking recipes for them! I’ve been meaning to make a pesto other than my usual basil…so this looks like the perfect thing for me right now!

  2. Lucy T. says:

    I like eating them, but for some reason I wimp out when I see garlic scapes at the Farmer’s Market. Happened just yesterday morning. Wish I’d bought them now!
    Eden pastas are really good, too. Did you add bread crumbs to that dish in the picture? It looks so yum.

  3. Heather says:

    I made her pesto last night too! Funny, I definitely considered adding lemon and ended up leaving it as is, but this looks like a great way to lighten up the recipe. I thought it was delicious but indeed extremely potent.

  4. tinaspins says:

    I have almost finished up the jar – a little goes a long way. I used the pesto to act as a binder for egg salad sandwiches for todays lunch – I bet they’re going to be tasty!

    Heather – I think the acidity of the lemon really helps counterbalance the extreme garlic.

    Lucy – No breadcrumbs – possibly the toasted almonds?

    Cate – give it a shot!

  5. Tracy says:

    How do you live so cheaply!? I spend 800 dollars a month on groceries! For two people! It’s insane. Right now I’m trying to bring it down to 100 dollars a week and I just blew it. I spent 300 the past two weeks. An improvement, but gosh is it a pain in the rear.

    Hats off to you, the master of budgeting.

  6. Tracy says:

    I know, I know! I started making my own seitan, though. It’s crazy how much I used to spend on that. I need to start doing that. Do you buy many packaged things? It seems like you eat primarily produce. Do you buy canned beans instead of uncooked beans for instance?

  7. tinaspins says:

    Hey Tracy,

    If you read back through more of our posts, you can sort of see how we can afford to eat cheaply (and well)! For starters, we belong to an amazing food coop where you have to work in order to shop, so things are priced lower because the overhead is less. We also buy in bulk, but not large quantities of it – usually enough of certain staples to get us through a week or 2. Beans are definitely something we buy in bulk and cook (hint: crockpot). I think we did posts on both buying in bulk and dried bean cooking a while back, so check those out for money-saving info.

  8. I can seriously eat garlic scapes like string beans!

  9. Colleen says:

    This looks amazing!! Thanks for the recipe, and also the scrumptious photos🙂

  10. Oh my lord, this looks good.

    I’ve never heard of garlic scapes before, and I don’t think I’ve ever seen them at my grocer. Sorry if this sounds like a completely idiotic question (I’m a newbie cook), but can I substitute the scapes for just some fresh garlic?

    • tinaspins says:

      Hi Lauren,

      Substituting fresh garlic for the scapes won’t work well – scapes give the pesto body and its green color. If you used all garlic, it would be way too overpowering and you wouldn’t get a pesto consistency. These are what scapes look like:

      So you can see that they’re not like garlic bulbs. If you just want to make a pesto, use some basil or parsley – or even watercress!

  11. Ah, thanks tinaspins. I’ll have to hunt these down.

  12. Doug says:

    I have a pretty extensive list of cooking measurement and conversion tools posted on my website, but you have listed a measure that I have yet to have seen used.

    http://www.theruralindependent.com/forum/index.php?board=39.0

    You use the measure, “glug.”

    I just wanted to congratulate you on successfully coining this oh, so descriptive new cooking measure. I can’t wait to spring this one on my wife.

    “Jeeez honey, just a glug! That was way more like a triple glug.”

    • tinaspins says:

      You know, the sound the olive oil makes when it pours out of a big bottle – GLUG!

      Three glugs would be super intense!

  13. […] some more tasty morsels out of garlic scape season with a batch of garlic scape pesto. This time on top of orecchiette with some sauteed cherry tomatoes and veggie sausage chunks, […]

  14. […] made the Garlic Scape Pesto recipe from 30 Bucks a Week, following it exactly except for the replacement of cheese with nutritional […]


Leave a Reply

