This Week’s Receipt

Phil got some nice fruit this week and I spent $1 for 4 onion rolls.  Last night we had some fantastic homemade veggie burgers made with a mixture of fava and white beans with those oven fries (see below) and a big salad.  Breakfast today was a pluot/apple galette I made last night.  It wasn’t very pretty, so I didn’t take a picture, but it was so tasty that I think I’ll put up the recipe later.

Total spent: $20.76 + $1 (6/16/09 – Phil bought some rolls for us to have more veggie burgers for dinner tonight)= $21.76

6.15.09 coop receipt


4 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt”

  1. I can’t seem to find receipts for some of your ingredients. Eggs, for example. And I never see you buy meat so I don’t know how you make your stock. Maybe I missed something or didn’t go back far enough.

    I did a month on the food-stamp diet, limiting myself to $176 for a month and had no problem, but your budget is much lower than that.

    • tinaspins says:

      Hi Dan,

      We’re vegetarians (like we say in our about page), so we make our stock out of vegetable scraps (see this post for more details). As for eggs, they’re sometimes on the receipts, or we state that we buy them. You can see some eggs here, here and here. If we don’t have eggs, I use ground up flaxseeds as a vegan substitute. A dozen eggs usually lasts us a while unless I decide to do a lot of baking.

      Hope this helps!

  2. Gustoso says:

    Love to see your recipe for veggie burgers. We need to start eating less meat, but a bit lost as how to make vegetarian meals interesting.

  3. tinaspins says:

    Sure thing!


Leave a Reply

