The Best Oven Fries…Ever

IMG_4542

Jonesing for french fries this weekend, I thought the better of it and waited to make oven fries when it got a bit cooler out.  Searching the internet for a new recipe, I came across the Cook’s Illustrated version of how to make oven fries.  I like reading Cook’s Illustrated, especially when they attempt to make something simple sublime.  I pretty much used the above recipe straight, but used less oil (and just vegetable oil because that’s what’s in our cupboard) since I was using silpat sheets.  They came out super crispy on the outside; steamy and tender on the inside.  Truly, the best oven fries ever.


3 Comments on “The Best Oven Fries…Ever”

  1. CathyH says:

    When I make oven fries, I put the baking sheet in the oven for 10 – 15 minutes to get it hot before adding the potatoes. I found that the potatoes stick less & are easier to flip over, as well as, being crispier.

  2. Bella says:

    YUM, I want some of these now! 😀

  3. Ellie says:

    I will cut potatoes into wedges, shake them in a bag with seasoned flour or Fryin Magic (cheap version of shake and bake), spray down a pan, put down the fries, spray the wedges, and bake at 425 for about 15 minutes on the first side and then keep them going about another 10 until done. Amazing. And extremely low cal.


Leave a Reply

