New Breakfasts?

Image by: filtran

We’re trying to loosely plan our Coop trip tonight and have come up with a few ideas that I am psyched to be sharing later in the week. With the weather getting warmer, our usual breakfast of hot oatmeal/millet/amaranth isn’t cutting it. It’s time to make some granola, get the yogurt maker out and pursue new breakfast possibilities! Besides some scones, I don’t really have any ideas for a take-it-to work breakfast. Comments appreciated!

What we usually do for breakfast during the workweek (weekend brunch is another story):

  • hardboiled egg w/some kind of bread that we have around the house
  • hot breakfast cereals (oatmeal or millet or amaranth) w/nuts and some fruit
  • homemade granola w/homemade yogurt
  • sometimes muffins or scones, but not usually
  • homemade meusli

Other ideas would be great! We don’t go for the packaged breakfast cereals, mainly because of the cost, but I’m game for new breakfasts!


21 Comments on “New Breakfasts?”

  1. Penny says:

    This isn’t the lightest fare, but I recently made an almond financier from the Sunday Suppers cookbook, and Goin suggested toasting a piece for breakfast. I actually froze 3/4 of the cake and had two pieces other the weekend – defrosted and toasted – it was YUMMY. Like I said, not light, but no worse than muffins, I would imagine?

    I rarely freeze things, but I loved how easy it was to prepare the pieces for a snack, and it tasted just as good as when it first came from the oven.

    Also, sometimes nothing is better than peanut butter on a piece of toast!

    I know I am not much help, but I rarely eat in the morning aside from munching on dry Lucky Charms (I know, for shaaaaaame).

    • tinaspins says:

      Lucky Charms? Oh boy!

      I like the idea of cake for breakfast, but feel like it would be more of a weekend indulgence.

      Nothing’s better than wanting a sweet treat and discovering one in your freezer. Makes me want to store up some cookies.

  2. Emily says:

    i’m totally a savoury breakfast person, and lately i’ve been making a huge pot of mixed grains and freezing whatever i don’t need for the week. i’ll heat some up in the morning with some vegetable stock for flavour and throw in whatever veggies i have on hand (spinach is great) and top it with a poached egg. delicious, healthy and very cheap!

  3. js says:

    My mom’s hippy granola recipe:
    2 cups rolled oats
    ½ cup wheat germ
    ¼ cup sesame seeds
    ½ cup coconut
    ½ cup chopped nuts
    ½ cup raisins
    2 tbsp brown sugar
    ½ cup honey
    ¼ cup oil
    1 tsp vanilla

    Mix all and spread in 10” x 15” pan. Bake at 325 degrees for 20 minutes (or 275 for an hour) stirring occasionally. Can be stored for several weeks. (Also, I have found this to be a great to-go breakfast if I don’t break up the chunks)

  4. jen says:

    My warm weather breakfast is often a smoothie of some sort. Favorites additions (all with banana and almond/rice/soy milk base):
    – strawberries
    – peaches
    – couple of medjool dates (esp. with almond milk)
    – 1/2 or whole orange plus a Tbsp. of almond butter
    – mango plus yogurt or soy yogurt
    – chocolate soy or rice milk for part of the milk plus 1 Tbsp. peanut butter
    – leftover/iced coffee

    I have found that the smoothies can be very frugal if you (obviously) use fruit in season and also use it as a chance to use up odds and ends in the fridge/cupboard. May be a good option if you pick up extra juice or fruit from your work events.

    There seems to be a huge trend toward “green smoothies” but I don’t have one of those high-powered blenders that can puree leafy greens.

    • tinaspins says:

      I’m into smoothies, but find that if I drink one before work, I get hungry again! I usually eat breakfast around 9:45 – at work, but I do like smoothies. I think the dates and almond butter here make it more substantial than a regular smoothie.

    • tinaspins says:

      Thanks for all of the suggestions! I don’t mind miso and rice for breakfast and like the quinoa idea, but we so often have it for dinner (and then lunch leftovers), that I can’t also have it for breakfast. I wonder about it cold though – sounds good!

      As for the breakfast muffins, those look good. I’m intrigued about doing it with black beans and it reminds me of a sneaky recipe that I’ve been meaning to post up…

  5. Katie says:

    I make a batch of these: http://www.recipezaar.com/87629 once a month. I’ve taken to replacing the sausage with black beans to cut the cost and the fat, but you will have to add a lot of spice to give them any sort of flavour (I like hot paprika). The Bisquick is pretty expensive, but you might know of some substitute that I don’t. After they cool off, I throw all of the muffins in the freezer. Pull a couple out of the freezer, nuke for a minute 30, add a couple splashes of hot sauce and it’s breakfast time!

  6. ren says:

    i sometimes make a big batch of w.w. couscous or quinoa, cooked in soymilk, spiced with cinnamon and nutmeg, maybe a little of whatever sweetener, nuts, dried fruit, whatever tickles my fancy. it’s good straight out of the fridge or warmed, so it’s handy for hot or cool weather.

    i also know a lot of people who like miso for breakfast. it’s served warm, but it could be a very pleasant, light breakfast in the summer too.

  7. Debbie says:

    I cook up a batch of Spanish rice (well, actually it’s white rice cooked in tomato juice) once a week or so. Then breakfast is a scoop of rice, a couple spoonfuls of salsa, and a fried egg on top. Protein, carbs, and a little spicy. I will confess to sometimes eating it for more than one meal in a day.

    Our other standby is a egg and veggie frittatta (no crust) that contains all the leftover veggies in the fridge, and all those little corners of cheese, etc. I’ll make it Sunday so it’s ready at the beginning of the week. Can be reheated and eaten with a fork, but often I’ll put it between two slices of bread with some mayo or salad dressing, and eat it as a sandwich.

  8. Bee says:

    Similar to the veggie frittatta and egg I make single serving crustless quiche in ramekins. Just oil the ramekins, beat the eggs/milk/veggies (spinach is great) and bake. You can do a bunch at a time for the week, although they are best hot.

  9. Alison says:

    Muffin and 1/2 a grapefruit. For the muffins, I usually rely on either banana espresso muffins (from Heidi Swanson’s ‘Super Natural Cooking’), or pumpkin millet muffins (from the ReBar Modern Food cookbook). I make a big batch and freeze them, and then have them for breakfast until they run out. I take them out of the freezer before going to bed and by morning they’re ready to go.

  10. Linked over form Silkie’ s blog so I am clueless as to the budget thing ….but loving the photos.. So now to read more. Julie

  11. Allie says:

    I really like matzot brei for breakfast, as well as fried rice. Oh, and pancake batter can be made the night ahead, as can crepe batter (and crepes cook so quickly, it’s more worth it to make ahead than pancakes are).

  12. Ayme says:

    When zucchini is plentiful, we throw together a zuke and egg scramble. Stir in Mexican spices, chili sauce, cheese, or whatever you have on hand and scoop the whole lot into warm corn tortillas. The cheap zucchini stretches the eggs but the two blend perfectly.

    We’re also partial to fried rice for breakfast. It’s a quick way to use up leftover rice and get a hit of protein before heading out the door.

  13. Angela says:

    My favorite breakfast is already on your list – the homemade granola and yogurt. I love it with fresh berries or bananas.

    Another favorite is wheat toast with almond butter and sliced pear or banana. The almond butter is expensive but lasts a long time. And it’s delicious!

    My brother told me yesterday that he uses leftover brown rice like oatmeal- heat and add milk, cinnamon, dried fruit or fresh fruit. Of course that’s another hot breakfast, but I thought it was very creative.

    And there’s always the bagel with cream cheese. I love it with sliced tomatoes and red onion. And you can really just use bread if you don’t have bagels.

  14. Liz says:

    Scrambled (or fried) egg with a tomato slice on toast or english muffin. You can add spinach or sprouts if you want, but it’s nice and simple!

    Smoothie: I usually use mixed frozen berries (or other frozen fruit), an old banana, a little yogurt, and milk. The berries make it sweet enough that you don’t need to add any sugar. You can also add protein powder to make it a little more filling.

  15. Jenny says:

    For a frugal filling smoothy, I pulverize some plain dry TVP in the food processor before I add any of the other ingredients. Then it really sticks to you, and the TVP is much chaper than protein powder.

    I’ve discovered frozen pumpkin puree makes a good smoothy base for a change from bananas — frugal if you buy pumpkins in season and freeze your own, but you can also use canned. Very good in a smoothy with orange juice concentarate.

  16. Chicken Coop says:

    great post(why i keep getting an error when i try to subscribe to your feed)?thanks


Leave a Reply

