Receipt: 4/20

Nothing too extraordinary about this week’s receipt. That first item was a little locally-made chocolate pound cake I picked up as a luxury item. I also got some celeraic, which I’m not sure whether we’ve ever cooked with before. If anybody’s got any favorite recipes, let us know.

Raw cashews. They are not cheap. I should have been better about measuring them out, but they sure did go nicely in this morning’s breakfast of amaranth (aka pigweed!) porridge with dates, blackberries (Tina scrounged them from work), and…cashews.

Lastly: I went shopping last night after working a checkout shift at the coop, and a big mystery for the night (It came up with at least three customers) was the fact that organic avocados were going for $1 apiece while their non-organic counterparts were $1.50. What is the explanation?

coop-receipt-42009


7 Comments on “Receipt: 4/20”

  1. jen says:

    i think “chez panisse vegetables” may have some ideas for celeriac if you have that book. and will be curious to see what you do with the okra!

    sheesh, it seems like you guys are always getting stuff from work. why do workplaces always order so much extra food? it drives me crazy when i go to a meeting and they have way too much food … esp. sandwiches and other stuff that sits out and then has to be thrown out. glad you are making sure food doesn’t go to waste.

    • tinaspins says:

      Ah, we don’t have it, but I bet we can find something on the internet! That’s a great book that we should definitely have. I’ve sliced it really thin and put it on sandwiches before and it adds a good crunch!

  2. tinaspins says:

    And on the work comment – yeah, it’s amazing how much stuff gets thrown out if people don’t eat it!

  3. Sarah says:

    I, too, bought celeriac on a whim, and I ended up making this incredible soup with it. Here’s the address where you’ll find the recipe:

    http://orangette.blogspot.com/2007/01/bad-case.html

    Now, I know it looks like nothing spectacular, but I had to make a second batch of it two days later because I was craving it again! Be careful it can be addictive.

  4. You can do a puree or make a soup with the celeriac, but I really love making a raw slaw out.. I used to make a really yummy one at the restaurant I worked at.. with a sweet and spicy sauce.. (I used maple syrup, evoo, citrus juice (whatever we hand on hand) pecans, fresh herbs..

    You can roast it as well and it’s super good.

  5. Steph says:

    I love celeriac! The slaw made with it is cafeteria food in France and soooo good. I also made it roasted a few times this winter, tossed with other veggies (carrot, sweet potato, etc), lots of olive oil, and rosemary. Yum!

  6. […] Experimental Veggies Jump to Comments After many helpful suggestions regarding our celeriac, we ended up making soup. Not a puree, though those recipes looked great as […]


Leave a Reply

