This Week’s Receipt

This week’s receipt has an addendum that Phil will be writing about. We pretty much spent another $30 for the Seder we’re hosting tomorrow night. He’ll fill you in on it later. I think we need to add a $1 or so to this receipt as an eggplant sneakily jumped into the Passover basket. We’re a little over $29.  I will note that the canned tomatoes we got are ridiculously pricey.  I think I’m going to have to buy them on sale at some supermarket when I want them.  Even the good Italian kind aren’t that expensive!  Also, what is up with quinoa?  Quinoa, I love you, but have you always cost this much?  I suppose we got a lot of it and it just fit into a quart sized mason jar, but I feel like it used to be cheaper…

40609-receipt1


5 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt”

  1. P says:

    Actually, it’s not only the eggplant that is missing here, but also one block of tofu and one of tempeh. All together, this certainly puts us over-budget by a couple bucks. Oh well. Chalk it up to four high-price items on the list above – canned tomatoes, fresh grape tomatoes, quinoa, and amaranth.

    As advertised, there will be an update regarding the seder budget later on. All in all, not a cheap week.

  2. actually, your price per pound for quinoa is GREAT compared to what I can get around here… I think we’re almost at $3/lb in the bulk bins…

  3. jen says:

    Yes, I have been wondering that, too, about the quinoa prices! I could swear it didn’t used to cost that much… It’s in the $3-3.25 range here in the bins.

    Last year there were tons of organic canned tomatoes at the grocery outlet, and I also remember one other store had a great sale on those amazing fire-roasted ones, but this year I have had no luck on the canned tomatoes either…

  4. Just found your site: love it! Am also jealous of your coop bill: we’re wrestling daily w/ the absurdly high price of groceries in Manhattan.

  5. abby says:

    haha, i’m constantly talking about how expensive quinoa has gotten lately! all of my friends think i’m insane, but there’s definitely a reason: http://www.andeannaturals.com/AN/News/Entries/2008/4/16_2008_crop_outlook____.html


Leave a Reply

