Mac & Cheese

Before the weather gets too warm, I really want to make a good mac & cheese. I’ve been craving it all winter, but haven’t had a chance to make it. Does anyone have an awesome recipe that uses real ingredients and isn’t too greasy? If so, put it in the comments! I never grew up with casseroles and things like that, so I don’t have a mom recipe for something like mac & cheese.  Help!


22 Comments on “Mac & Cheese”

  1. Penny says:

    I also did not grow up with mac and cheese. My boyfriend’s family has this “traditional” recipe that uses Velveeta. Gross, I know, but I still eat it happily. It has a dash of mustard powder in it as well.

    I did see a recipe in a recent issue of Bon Appétit that calls for sharp cheddar and sautéed leeks (yummy).

    http://www.epicurious.com/recipes/food/views/Baked-Penne-with-Farmhouse-Cheddar-and-Leeks-351513

    My only input? Add fresh bread crumbs to the top🙂

  2. pdx32 says:

    As soon as I read your post I immediately thought of one of my favorite mac&cheese recipes from the Moosewood cookbook (Macaroni and cheese with tofu). I wish I was at home so I could give you the actual recipe (the closest thing I found online is here: http://caloriecount.about.com/moosewood-low-fat-mac-cheese-ft7824, but it’s a little off – the actual recipe uses silken tofu and low fat yogurt). If you can locate a copy of “Moosewood Restaurant New Classics”, you’ll be all set. I usually end up tweaking the recipe and adding some greenery as well, but no matter how you do it, it’s an awesome mac and cheese that doesn’t sit too heavy at all!

  3. Maija says:

    I recommend this recipe for mac-n-cheese with cauliflower from Real Simple (their Feb 09 issue). They did an article on healthier versions of comfort food.

    I made it a few weeks ago and loved the addition of cauliflower – it’s subtle, and it adds a little extra veggie goodness. I subbed plain yogurt for about half of the sour cream (as I didn’t have enough sour cream) and that worked just fine. The bread crumb topping was tasty, too.

    http://www.realsimple.com/food-recipes/browse-all-recipes/macaroni-cheese-cauliflower-00000000008063/

  4. Teresa says:

    Mac and Cheese is so versatile. IMO, if you just start out with the basic techinque you can customize it anyway you want.

    Melt a couple tbsps butter (or margarin) add equal amounts of flour, stir together, let cook for a few minutes. Whisk in a couple cups of milk, then add whatever cheese sounds good. Lately I have been big on Gorgonzola mac and cheese because you don’t need much of the cheese to get that strong taste. Do you like gouda? That is another good one to use. I also like to add caramlized onions to it.

    Then just add the pasta, and throw in the oven with extra cheese and breadcrumbs on top and Voila! you are done.

  5. tinaspins says:

    Thanks! I am excited to pick one (or more) and try them out. Too bad I didn’t get these ingredients yesterday, today appears the perfect day for something warm and cheesey.

  6. Erica says:

    Try Martha Stewart’s Healthy Mac and Cheese…it uses sweet potatoes to help hold everything together but is still cheesy enough to satisfy the craving!

    http://www.marthastewart.com/recipe/healthy-macaroni-and-cheese

  7. Brandon says:

    This recipe is for some of the best mac and cheese I have ever had. It is super easy, also!

    CROCK POT MACARONI

    8 oz macaroni (cooked and drained)
    1 tall can evaporated milk
    1 ½ cup milk
    1 teaspoon salt
    2 cup sharp cheese, shredded
    1 cup medium cheese, shredded
    ¼ cup melted butter
    2 eggs
    Pepper
    Mix all ingredients together and put into crock pot which has been greased with 2 tablespoons shortening. Cut several slices of cheese and place on top. Cook 3-4 hours on low (I use all sharp cheese).

  8. tinaspins says:

    I do love me a crockpot recipe…

  9. amber says:

    How funny–i JUST read the Pioneer Woman’s recipe, and it sounds incredible… She has two.
    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2009/04/macaroni-cheese/

    and

    http://thepioneerwoman.com/cooking/2008/05/not-your-grannys-mac-cheese/

    Happy cooking!

  10. Lucy T. says:

    Hmmm, one more pot of M&C sounds like a great idea. It’s snowing here today so I’m going to make a pasta with loads of mushrooms and a little bit of blue cheese.

    Here’s my mac and cheese recipe to add to the mix. I like making a rouxless one. You could probably get away with even more ricotta or cottage in this one.

    http://bunnycucina.blogspot.com/2009/02/macaroni-cheese.html

  11. Astro says:

    I had a similar craving. The pan of Mac and Cheese lasted for a week around here, which isn’t too bad.

    http://astrogirl.com/2009/03/28/home-made-mac-cheese/

  12. Taylor says:

    My belief is that, if you are going to make macaroni and cheese, you should go all out and not worry about including vegetables (serve them on the side) or tofu (better stir fried anyway) or anything else. Paula Deen’s recipe, found here: http://recipes.pauladeen.com/index.php/recipes/view/the_ladys_cheesy_mac/

    I have served it with great success at parties – but I quadruple the recipe.

    Good luck!

  13. Anesly says:

    We just made the Real Simple cauliflower one this weekend–and it was a big hit. Except, even after cuting the recipe down in half, it made a ton, so now we’re drowing in delicious mac’n’cheese. It reheats well😀

  14. Lisa says:

    Cook enough elbow macaroni to feed everyone. While it’s cooking, grate up a bunch of cheddar jack cheese (don’t use the pre-grated kind). Preheat oven 325 degrees. Drain the cooked macaroni and put it back into the hot pot you just cooked it in. Add some butter, salt and pepper, canned evaporated milk and most of the grated cheese and stir together until it melts. Dump it all into a baking dish that’s been sprayed with non-stick spray. Cover with more grated cheese. Bake until it’s bubbly and starts to brown on top. Cut into squares and serve. Even better left over.

  15. This is my husband’s favorite:

    http://passionatehomemaker.com/?p=160

    The ham and broccoli additions are optional.

  16. Shelly says:

    I do what Teresa does. Cheese is usually sharp cheddar and jack, plus sour cream. For the pasta, I really like mezze penne. I also add broccoli, but that’s more because I just plain love broccoli than that I’m trying to make it healthier.

    Hm, I bet spinach would be good in it, too. I’ll have to try that next time.

  17. Anne says:

    I also do a version that’s a lot like Teresa and The Pioneer Woman’s recipes. Additions: top with buttered and seasoned breadcrumbs! and season the sauce–I usually use some combination of powdered mustard, garlic powder, seasoned salt, paprika, cayenne and plenty of pepper. I think the mustard is the most important. Extra nutrition points: add lightly steamed/blanched broccoli before baking.

  18. violarulz says:

    did you ever find a recipe? here’s my mother’s. It’s awesome and not at all oily/greasy or too traditional. You can sub any soft melty cheese you want (camembert makes it taste like buttery goodness) for the fontina (which is kinda lightly swiss tasting in this recipe). Fresh grated nutmeg helps it get it’s spice, as do the 15 whole peppercorns. It was always a thing to try and count the pepper corns at dinner table as we found them. We’re weird like that.

  19. Janice Cook says:

    Since you recently (near this post that is) purchased smoked gouda I wanted to mention that Rachel Ray’s smoked gouda mac and cheese is outstanding. You can find it on the food network site. It even has cauliflower and since everything is the same color we’ve tricked many a non-veggie fan into eating some veggies when they are over for dinner. Check it out!


Leave a Reply

