Welcome, GRS Readers

Just want to acknowledge the throngs of readers who have arrived here today via Get Rich Slowly. Welcome!

For those who got here from other directions, have a look at that site as well – it’s focused on personal financial health via savings, debt avoidance, and some general frugality. These themes obviously fit well with our attitude here at 30/week, and just might be the antidote to the frenzy of consumerism and the money-for-nothing financial industry that sunk us (i.e., the world) into the economic hellscape we find ourselves in today.

As it happens, my professional life has a lot to do with the same topics (though I deal with the financial health of nonprofit organizations, rather than individuals), so I find this stuff particularly interesting. But even if you’re numbers-phobic, this is really important stuff to know for the sake of being able to put healthy nutritious food on your table in the coming years (plus, clothing, shelter, all that extra stuff).

And in case you didn’t know, we’re apparently in the midst of Financial Literacy Month.


4 Comments on “Welcome, GRS Readers”

  1. Francesca says:

    Hi, I came through GRS and am glad I did. I will be sure to keep popping back to pick up on your tips. I am alwasy looking for ways to make the money work smarter for me and my daughter. Many thanks from Australia,

    Francesca !

  2. Penny says:

    Horray for the GRS shout-out! I love that blog.

  3. Chris Loughnane says:

    Just wanted to chime in that I found you via GRS as well. I’ve been using mint.com for ~6 months (on GRS recco) and have noticed the easiest place for me to cut spending is food.

    Given that the first thing I saw when I came was a delicious-looking pizza, things are looking up.

  4. Carissa says:

    I found you through GRS, and I just finished reading all of your posts from the beginning. I love your blog, I am a vegetarian trying to save money and eat healthier. I’m taking notes and attempting to follow your lead.


Leave a Reply

