Dirt Candy

Last night, Phil took me to Dirt Candy for my birthday and it is my new favorite restaurant.  I wish I had the little camera with me because the food was gorgeously presented.  I know this blog is about our frugality, but if you want to treat yourself to some amazing and inventive vegetarian food and live in NY, make a reservation!  You really have to make a reservation, the space is tiny and walk-ins were turned away.  We had jalapeno hush puppies to start with some sweet whipped butter and then split a green salad with grapefruit pops, which were a revelation.  Imagine a huge segment of juicy grapefruit encased in a hard sugar shell.   There is a picture of it here, but it really doesn’t portray the beauty of the pop.  I am seriously wondering how I can recreate this in my kitchen.  My entree was amazing – stone ground grits with pickled shitakes, bits of corn watercress and a tempura poached egg and bits of liquid huitlacoche. How did they do this egg? It was poached perfectly, dipped in tempura batter and fried?! Amazing! Phil had crispy tofu with green ragout – comprised of some lovely spring vegetables. We were too full for dessert, but will head back! Maybe with a camera next time.


3 Comments on “Dirt Candy”

  1. GeorgyGirl says:

    Yum. Seriously: YUM.

    I just took a look at the website and my word that food sounds good. There’s a vegan/vegetarian restaurant here in Brighton, four star and therefore a once a year/save your pennies treat but the food is *outstanding*. I think it’s nice and utterly essential to treat yourself, even on a budget.

    And I love the term “dirt candy”. I’m gonna start introducing that in conversations😉

  2. Bettina says:

    I just found the link to your blog from some article on thrifty groceries… haven’t gotten to any of those posts yet, but I need to share this link with you:

    http://nymag.com/restaurants/recipes/inseason/53758/

    You CAN recreate the salad at home!

  3. tinaspins says:

    Bettina, you are my HERO!


Leave a Reply

