We Did it First…Sorta

Sometimes I regret not posting photos of all of the things we make and eat, because some of them are amazing. One time, we made a swiss chard tart (savory rosemary crust a la tomato tart) and had the idea to top it with some eggs and bake it. I feel like I must have written about it on the site, because it was SO GOOD, but I can’t find it anywhere. I have just been told that it has been languishing in draft mode. I believe I was too lazy to write out the recipe. It all becomes clear.

Anyways, checking out the Times today, Bittman has a post about “morning pizza”. I want to say that we did it first…sorta. Here’s a pic:

food-004

Basically, you take the rosemary tart dough from the tomato tart recipe and press it in to a pan (a tart tin is nice). Sautee swiss chard or your favorite vegetable with lots of garlic and a bit of olive oil and perhaps you might like to brown some onions first? Whatever. Make what you like and then let the mixture cool. This is important! Put the vegetables in the pan and bake it at 350 for about 20 minutes or so (sorry this was a while ago). When the crust looks like it’s getting golden brown and good smells are coming from the oven, carefully crack some eggs open over the top. Season with salt and pepper and place in oven until eggs are cooked through, but the yolk is still runny (if you like that sort of thing). I want to say 10 minutes, but I have no idea. Eat with a salad for breakfast, lunch or dinner.



Leave a Reply

