Dark Chocolate & Pear Cake

pear-and-chocolate-004

I saw this cake from Al di La on Smitten Kitchen and knew I had to try it.  Al di La is an amazing restaurant in Park Slope and the one time Phil and I ate there, we were too full of dinner to try their desserts.  I thought it would be the perfect end to my Valentine’s Day dinner and it did not disappoint (it is also great with coffee in the morning). The recipe is pretty easy to follow and I didn’t really make any changes, except I had to use a bigger pan (my 9″ springform is at work for some reason) and whole wheat flour. The dark chocolate goes really well with the tender bits of pear and the nuttiness of the brown butter. I also liked it with the whole wheat flour, although I suspect you would get a lighter cake using all purpose. Here is the link to the recipe again: Bittersweet Chocolate & Pear Cake.


One Comment on “Dark Chocolate & Pear Cake”

  1. I found your website on Yahoo and i like your content.


Leave a Reply

