This Week’s Receipt

I didn’t get everything that I put in my basket. Which was a bummer because I was looking forward to some grape tomatoes and string beans, but looks like I’ll be making something with almonds and string beans instead. C’est la vie!

  • Money Spent This Week: $28.90
  • Money Left: $1.10 (hmm, could have bought corn flour)

receipt2.6.09


6 Comments on “This Week’s Receipt”

  1. Suzanne says:

    Congratulations – that is awesome. I am trying to decrease my food expenditures & it is not always easy. As someone who lives in the NYC area, I can appreciate how difficult it is to keep costs down.

  2. Amy says:

    Your prices are cheaper in NY than they are in Portland, ME???? I just paid $2.99 for a doz omega 3 eggs, $3.49 a lb for red peppers, $2.29 for a bunch of cilantro, $1.49 lb for loose carrots. Your prices appear cheaper in Brookyn.

  3. Amy says:

    I also paid$2.99 for a 5lb bag of onion recently , which works out to .60 a lb, you paid $1.30 for 3 lbs, that’s .45 a lb, also cheaper.Well, I see you shop at a coop, that must be why your prices are lower. I shop at a Hannaford’s Supermarket. Still, I am really surprized food is cheaper in Brooklyn than in Portland, ME.

  4. tinaspins says:

    It really is the Coop Amy. The Park Slope Food Coop is the largest member’s only food coop in the country and the prices are cheaper because everyone who shops there works there. It is a pretty amazing place!

  5. Amy says:

    We had a food co-op here years ago, I still miss it. I have heard rumors of various grocery alternatives starting up in Portland, I will have to look into it. BTW I enjoy your blog.

  6. Suzanne says:

    My prices in Whole Foods & our local supermarket (Stop & Shop) are about the same as Amy’s – $3.29 for a dozen Omega 3 eggs (sale price: $2.99) and $3.50 – $3.99/lb for red/yellow/orange peppers. I’ll have to look for a food coop on Long Island! And, yes, I know Whole Foods is not the cheapest choice but sometimes I use it if it’s the only place to get good vegetables that my husband will eat.


Leave a Reply

