Another reason to love the Ripper

I must say, I was smitten with Eric Ripert’s blog from the beginning. His use of a toaster oven to create delectable little meals (and his accent while describing the process) is great! I believe that watching one of his videos led my friend to go out and buy that Cuisinart toaster oven, which is a whole other story. I haven’t checked it out in a while and they’ve changed the layout a bit and have opened it up to the readers. What struck me was this great post on the pleasure of cooking for friends, enjoying food and using seasonal ingredients.  After claiming that he will create a menu and an easy plan to prep everything, Ripert wants to actually include people in on the process:

“I invite you to join in this experience and document your party. After your individual dinner party is over, return to the site and share your highlights. I hope that you will post pictures and write about your experiences here on the site through our new gallery feature. There will even be a food photo contest that I hope you will enter. Submit your favorite picture of the beautiful food you have prepared and you could win something special.”

I don’t know if he’s actually writing this or someone else is pulling the strings, but I think its a fantastic idea and love the progression of the parties through the winter season.  While this won’t fit into our budget, maybe we’ll make an exception and host a Ripper dinner party (sans meat).  His October menu:

Caramelized Onion and Olive Croustade

Endive Spears with Blue Cheese and Duck Prosciutto

Fall Pumpkin Soup with Spiced Pumpkin Seeds

Roasted Leg of Lamb with Fingerling Potatoes and Marinated Market Vegetables

Maple Roasted Pears with Bourbon Chocolate Sauce (YUM!)



Leave a Reply

